That Time I was Robbed at Gun Point

in #blog6 years ago

In 2008, I waited last minute to go Christmas shopping. It was only days before Christmas. I was meeting some friends at the mall. I waited in my car for them to show, but they were tied up at another store, so I decided to walk in and start shopping by myself. I had never met anyone who had randomly been help up at gun point, so walking alone in a parking lot was not a fear of mine.

(GIF borrowed from: https://gph.is/2bY0uSe)

As I started walking towards the mall entrance, I heard a noise coming up behind me, and by the time I looked over my shoulder, a man with a durag tied around his face grabbed me by the arm and snatched me around to face him. He had what I am assuming was a gun in his jacket pocket and he shoved it into the side of my stomach and told me "give me your purse or I will shoot the sh*t out of you." I replied, "fine, take it." so he snatched it from me and took off running and jumped into a car.

(GIF retried from: https://gph.is/2gpTnXQ)

I was a mix of emotions, angry, grateful, sad. It was Christmas time and I'm a huge giver, but I couldn't buy my family Christmas gifts because I had to freeze my bank accounts. He only got away with $5 in my purse, but unfortunately, it had my identification cards (ID) in it, and because it was Christmas time, I couldn't go get a new ID to unfreeze my bank accounts, plus I had no money to go buy new ID cards since my accounts were frozen. It made me sad to not have anything to give to the people I love for Christmas, but I was grateful to be alive.

This experience permanently changed me. It gave me a new fear I had never had before. It took away a sense of independence that I felt like I used to have to be able to walk into a store with by myself with ease. To this day, I still hate going shopping by myself. I wish this was the only bad experience I could say I've had as a younger female, but it isn't. The police told me, "young females are often the target of crimes of these natures." Maybe I will share other experiences I've had at a later time; however, no matter who the person is, it is a shame for anyone to not be able to safely walk into a store.


(Retrieved GIF from: https://gph.is/1eQqptH)

I look over my shoulder and stay vigilant no matter where I go, as everyone should. I never expected to be a victim of a crime of this nature, but I share this story with you all to tell you that it honestly can happen to anyone, even if you feel like you live in a safer area. So if you, or your children go out by themselves, be very cautious, especially around the holidays. Tips that I now use when going out by myself is to keep my phone and keys in my hand or pocket, I do not carry a purse or visible wallet, I try to park near the door, or wait till I see others in the parking lot before I get out of my car, I try to do my shopping during daylight hours, and I dress down to look poorer.

Sort:  

No matter how vigilant you think you are, when things like this happen, it will leave you paralyzed with fear. I'm sorry it happened to you. Having a company is the wisest thing to do. The only good thing to come out of this is the gratitude of being alive but never the same again.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I agree... it is hard to say what you will do. The smartest thing when someone has a gun up to you like that is to just give them your purse so they will leave you alone. I try to go with someone, but it doesn't always work out like that, so when alone, I try to be alert.

Shocking 😑

This is your shocking memory. I'm shocked to know that, no one is safe in developed country like yours.

Glad 😇

I'm glad to know that you are alive. I'm glad that you are careful now.

Thanks 👍

Thanks for give safety suggestions.

Pray 🎄

I pray for your long life.

Thank you. Unfortunately crime is everywhere!

Of ours. I pray that criminals get rid of from crimes.

It makes me so angry that women, especially, have to always be so vigilant about their safety in order to protect themselves from some strange man robbing them or worse. Thanks for sharing your story @bosssarah. I'm sorry for what this incident has taken from you.

Thank you, it was crazy... but it taught me that vigilance is important.

This was really shocking, everyone of us deserves a safe and much place than what this earth has turned into, Happy that You are safe...steeming with full energy, This experience is only going to make You much more stronger of a lady with time . Stay Safe

Thank you! I did take karate afterwards, so I guess it did make me somewhat stronger lol.

Haha that is surely going to make You stronger and more confident, If You come across another snatcher make sure to kick him right on point this time :D give him some experience of his lifetime lol

If the attacker doesn't have a gun lol... but you don't bring fists to a gun fight lol

Of course, that's obvious, You don't try to kick someone who has a gun already. But, most of the snatchers do not really have a gun. They win just because we get too afraid of them. what's the best option here on? Run may be? lol

If it is a male, kick him in the balls then run lol!

hahahahaha thats quite a torture :D but just run too fast after kicking okay? lol

Exactly! Definitely don't want to wait around for the snatcher to get his composure lol

I am sorry you had to experience this! I've never been robbed but I did grow up poor & around enough crime to learn to do my best to watch out for it. ((Hugs))

Although, I do realize that if someone wants to sneak up on you, it is possible no matter what.

Thank you! You never know what you will do in situations like this or what you can actually do till it happens.... however, looking out can help show people you wouldn't be an easy target.

So sorry you had to experience this! Since the past can't change, I pray the experience was for the better.

Thank you... I guess it helped me not be so naive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65