After the Bootcamp, Episode 4

in #blog6 years ago

My weeks since graduation have been spent sending out resumes, building things, meeting people and trying to stay positive.

interview.jpg

One thing I have noticed is how my skills as a front-end developer translate into fields that are not front-end related. I've recently been studying about RPA. RPA is a robotic platform that is designed to automate tasks and free up human capital. RPA is not code-intensive and is done through a lot of abstract interaction with an application modeler that looks similar to Visio. However, the guts of the system depend on a lot of processes I learned about at bootcamp. For example, when automating a process you must select the fields that the modeling software will observe. However, if the DOM or the appstate are updated the modeling software needs to be configured to ignore these changes and continue running. This goes back to my first week at bootcamp learning about the DOM of an HTML page or later learning about the virtual DOM of React. So even though RPA doesn't involve a lot of time coding, knowing about code is important to understanding what is happening under the hood.

I've heard countless stories of people who learn something at school and once they start work they have to use that as a foundation to learn a different language or framework. Actually it seems like everyone who went to school or bootcamp will get a job that barely uses the languages/frameworks they learned, but will almost definitely use the techniques and the logic. So for those of you who are studying web dev and programming keep an eye on the fundamentals of what you have learned. Its important to learn how to do a for-loop in JavaScript for the sake of JS programming, but when the time comes you will use that same logic to build a for-loop in PHP.

Me, 5 seconds after replacing Windows 10 on my laptop with Ubuntu 18.

hackerman.jpeg

Its not the first time I've installed Ubuntu on a computer. I did it on my desktop back in the day before I even knew how to do anything in terminal. And I did it most recently on my HP Mini that was too weak to run the modern Windows configs or update any of the newer apps. But this is the first time I replaced it on a computer that I actually use on a regular basis and care about. At first I wanted to set up a dual boot config so I could continue using Windows for the apps I enjoy, while being able to code using the Linux CLI. Prior to this I was using my HP Mini for coding (yes, I was THAT guy who shows up for meetups with a laptop that clearly doesn't belong). But once I started building apps with a little complexity the HP Mini started showing its age. And the Mini wasn't built with upgradability in mind so basically I took that laptop as far as it could go. It was by my side during my accounting classes at UNLV back in 2013, flew with me to Hawaii as my travel-laptop, and has been my savior when I needed to watch Youtube tutorials or prepare USB installers when my other computers get broken.

Too bad I didn't learn how to properly mirror my monitor. On Saturday I gave a presentation at the Las Vegas Demo Day extolling the virtues of proper button UI/UX. It was my first presentation using my new Ubuntu laptop and sure enough the slideshow didn't mirror correctly so I had to do it (GASP!) manually on screen. Although the magic was ruined, the presentation still went well and was received positively. It was really nice giving back to the group too since I typically just sit in and watch other people go up in front. I'll definitely be back next month with at least 50% fewer technical difficulties.

Obviously I want to be working. But I also want to grow as a developer. Its great when you can have both at the same time. But when you have to choose, investing in yourself is the best investment you can make. The payoff is unbeatable.

Sort:  

Congratulation! I have featured your post today in MY ENTRY POST.This is a weekly contest by @pifc and @thedarkhorse,Pay it Forward Curation Contest.
Thanks. Have a nice day!!

But when you have to choose, investing in yourself is the best investment you can make. The payoff is unbeatable.

That's true @bornatforty 😉 and I think that many developers like to work for their own project rather than working for somebody else.. but I wish tgat you could get the dream job, soon.

Found your post through @aggamun entry post in the pay it forward contest this week.

¡Hola @bornatforty ! La mejor recompensa de invertir, en uno mismo es ser su propio jefe, crear sus propias fuentes de ingreso, como desarollador tienes una gran oportunidad, de inventar y desarrollar un gran proyecto, poco a poco alcanzaras tus metas, llegue a tu post porque @aggamun, presento su publicación en el concurso pay it forward. Te invito cordialmente a participar, un cariñoso abrazo.

You really seem to know your stuff! Awesome tip for up and coming web developers and programmers. Looks like your moving up making presentations and all. All the best in finding work! Ever considered being a developer here on the blockchain with different apps etc?

I have a love/hate relationship with Ubuntu myself. I've never found it to run as fast as my Windows boxes though.

One further comment on the actual article writing - be sure to give the sources of your images (and make sure they're genuinely free for your use.)

I found you today thanks to @aggamun's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

Nice post @bornatforty! Dropping by to support it, after @aggamun featured it in our weekly @pifc community contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68797.43
ETH 3730.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76