Ulog #1: Relocation, Breakdowns, and Attempted Car Theft

in #blog6 years ago

I’ve had a hard time deciding whether or not I should write this. It is easy, particularly online, to feel separated from people. At least for me, that feeling of isolation usually leads to closing myself off from the world when I feel the most vulnerable.

I don't want to do that this time.

So here goes everything. The last few weeks have been an absolute mess. Long story short, I went from having somewhere to live to not having somewhere to live in the span of an hour. I’ll spare you the sordid details of how this came to be (I don’t like throwing people under the bus on public forums and that’s what my side of the story is likely to amount to) but needless to say it was very stressful.

My boyfriend and I had some quick decisions to make. Technically my first decision was whether or not to stay with him or go home to my parents, but that didn’t feel like a decision at all. I’m stubborn by nature and when I say “I like you and want to work on building a life together,” I mean it. If anything, the rough waters have only made us a stronger couple.

Second, we had to figure out where in the world we were going to sleep that night. Our car was sadly out of commission so we decided to walk to the closest hotel (3 miles, but a lovely stranger drove us half the distance) and hope they had an opening. They did not. In fact, no one in town had an opening. The closest hotel was well outside of what was realistic to walk (at least for me) so we called a cab (by some horrid twist of fate my phone refused to connect to the servers for both uber and lyft.)

We fixed the car. Until it broke again. So we fixed it… and it broke again. And basically lather, rinse, repeat that a few hundred times and you get the idea. The kicker? I’m a pizza delivery driver. Or at least I was. Hard to deliver pizzas in a car that breaks down when you look at it wrong. We’ve gotten stuck on the side of one road or another way to many times the past few weeks.

As you can imagine, living in hotels is not something we could sustain for long. We were hemorrhaging money while looking for a place to rent. But then, wonder of wonders an old friend of my boyfriend's offered us a place to stay! We’ve been recuperating here as well as helping him fix the place up a little.

But then today, in case we thought the universe was giving us a breather, someone broke into our car! They tried to hotwire it but because the battery was faulty we had taken it out to charge it upstairs. I suppose in that way yesterday's bad luck became today's good luck :p We still have a car, we just have to add broken window to the list of repairs.

But despite all that we’re doing all right. It’s a lot to deal with, but we’ve learned a lot about how we function as a team. I’ve learned a lot about myself and how I react under pressure. It’s all an experience, and for now we’re simply taking it one day at a time.

But hopefully that explains my prolonged absence for anyone that was curious. Now that I have reliable access to internet again, I will more than likely go back to regular posting. Now more than ever I value the ability to create things and share them with other people, so you can be sure that if I can find the time I will continue to write.

If you took the time to read this thank you very much <3

The image above can be found here:
https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-using-typewriter-1262972/

Sort:  

It does very much seem like the universe is conspiring against you, the bam bam bam of one thing after another. I am so happy to hear you are rising to the challenge, the things that nearly break us, make us a million times more than the happy joyful moments. Getting through something, pulling through, together, does more than a thousand overly romantic dates. Don't feel like you have to do anything, partake in any way, be very glad to have you back when you have the time, and life lets up a little. Sometimes, life has to throw shit as us authors but it can never break us, it just gives us more to pull on.

<3 Thank you for sharing!

hope you are ok sweet <3

Wow! Life sure can pile up the challenges. You seem to have a great attitude about it, though I can't imagine it's easy. Glad you still have a car, and now a place to stay. I hope things turn up from here!

Wow, so sorry to hear. These things are sent to test us I believe, the universe trying to weed out the strong from the weak. As you've shown you have the strength to face such adversity and flip the middle finger at the universe. Hang in there, things will get better.

Muxxy hugs

Oh gosh what a saga! This was definitely a character building exercise, but also a massive pita. Somehow, someway, your luck has to improve.

You would think so lol

Welcome back @blueteddy glad you're finally out of that mess. You guys have definitely been through a lot but if you can get through this, you can get through anything. Can't imagine bouncing between hotels. I think I'd rather re-experience my 120 days without electric then do that! Been out of the loop myself but that's due to work. I'm so tired from work lately all I want to do is sleep. Everything happens for a reason, so I trust we'll all get through this!

yup yup! Keep on keepin on and all that lol

She forgot to mention that these past 2 weeks were when she learned to drive stick from a person who doesn't drive stick.
Conveyed to her my mechanical understanding as best I could, and she learned to drive through this whole mess.
She's got some serious strength of character in there. Learning that is hard enough for most people. Her having to learn under that kind of duress, mixing the expected stalls in with the unexpected breakdowns.. I'm just saying, she's awesome.

Myah, love you too babe <3 Even having never driven stick yourself, you're still a good teacher!

Congratulations @blueteddy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68