The Old Man and Guitars

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

My Father I really never knew, he abandoned the family ship when I was but a very wee-lad. The only thing he ever taught me or cared to spend time on, was how to play three cords on a guitar: C, F and G/G7 ...Took awhile, but I learned them and a wee-bit more over my formative teen years and still.

I was reading short stories from @richq11 earlier about his early days, and it made me drift back, as music is good for the mind and the soul.

My first axe - 50's Mickey Mouse Clubhouse Guitar (wish I still had it - worth a golden penny)

What I learned to play on 1940 Martin D-45 (Old man Navy Guitar - he played C & W with E. Tubbs in the service when they were nervous - submarines)

My First Electric - Hagstrom F300 - still have till today - hangs on my office wall. Damn good guitar.

My Next - Les Paul Custom 1964 (mine was not as nice this picture - used baby, used but a fine axe)

Then had to SELL everything (LIFE) and the Marshall Twin Stack Super Lead 100... Anchors Aweigh

Then around 1996 A Taylor - A fine instrument (bought it the day after my younger brother died)

And then a most kick-ass axe a year later- Hamer (all one needs is one good electric and one good hollow body)
redmirage.jpg

The last guitars (Les Paul's) were for my nephew and launched his ALT-Rock-Music career (the boy has skills and needed the proper tools) A Wilhelm Scream (he and his band fairly well known WW in the business now - love him to bits).

Band13872757_1405999046081008_6088565965410347097_n.jpg


So I guess the old man did some good after all (the SOB)...and so it goes...

SRV


Vid Utube & Google Images (Hamer - my own) Giphy

Sort:  

Just came by to say hi as I'm a friend of @richq11! Welcome to Steemit!

I was raised by a great man and american patriot - I now know another one in his own right a great stand-up guy from BAS-TON and a hero @richq11 ... Thank you much!

Here's another old man with an axe!

I used to go to his bar in Austin!

I went to WOODSTOCK (and it sucked) (liberty)- old COOT - BADA Bing :)

I saw Hendrix twice once in Frisco and once at the Atlanta Pop Festival

That must have been a scene RIP SRV.......
helluva git-axe man!

Now I post the best I like FOR YOU! Mr. Q!

Well slept for two hours and finally came back and annotated the guitars with what I wanted to say when I got shut-out earlier. Thanks buddy..and lookie there...I reached the 40 Rep.. you helped!!
Rock and roll!

Our Theme "tune" Mr. Q

OK Buddy... I'm good with the music! You're filling my entire comment section and I can't find stuff from anybody else!

I f'd up I should have been replying to my thread not yours...oh shit happens oh using an iPhone to post..ayCAH - rumBA!

For my money... This guy is still the greatest!

I was there for this about 3 clicks away from the stage.WILD!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14