GTO Muuurica Adventures: "Brother from another Mother"

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

20171230_161215.jpg

It's been a while since my last update and sorry about that. This past few days though have certainly been exciting. For those who have been following since the original "GTO Europe Adventures" post on LS1GTO.com. You may know or remember the name "JohnWins" aka Johnathan. John and I met on LS1gto.com after I bought the IBM 05' GTO I have now back in 2011.

To my surprise, I got orders to Italy shortly there after. Once I arrived, over the course me getting settled in Italy and travelling with my then girlfriend (now wife) while I as stationed there. Whenever we had a chance, I'd see him in Germany where is he was stationed.

FB_IMG_1514833727061.jpg

FB_IMG_1514833316135.jpg

FB_IMG_1514833321787.jpg

We hung out and chatted quite a bit and in a way he was and still is like the brother I never had. I hurt my GTO while in Italy (rear ended a Fiat) and I bought his 4" Glasstek hood off of him and naturally used it as an excuse to go to Germany,lol. ( The photos above are taken from that same day/weekend I went up there to put the hood on. We even took around the Nurburging together.

FB_IMG_1514833761797.jpg

This would be the last time John and I would hangout. We stayed in touch and continued to talk as always,only there were some things that nor I or anyone else close to John knew were troubling him. Roughly a year and a half later John would take his life, while I was on my way home from deployment. I had just talked to him not three days before. I was devastated and reached out to his family to give any and all support I could. In the mist of all the pain a new relationship was founded with Justin, Johns older brother.

Having both our lives touched by joins amazing spirit and passion for racing. It was only natural those same similarities would allow us to support one another through the coping process. Over the next two years we would say In touch via phone,text,Facebook sharing both memories and just life in general having become brothers who never actually met.

Fast forward to this past weekend and after nearly two years we finally met for the first time in person. Thanks to some crafty planning by my amazing wife. She gave Justin the heads up that we would be in the area visiting her best friend and welcomed him come meet me in person. Mind you, this whole time she was talking to me and asking if I let Justin know I would be in town and
If we had made plans once I arrived.....I hadn't yet......jokes on me.

The best part is, shortly before John passed he bought a 95' Corvette that he drove for a daily driver. Justin brought that car to Ashville and the two of us hung out while basking in Johns memory. We rang in the new year with good friends, good food and a whole mess load of shenanigans. So awesome that if you're a fan reading this, I may tell you about if we ever meet in person ;-) .

20171230_144058.jpg

20171230_140903.jpg

In the mist of all the fun, the loss of John still stings. I intend to finish my GTO as a tribute to his memory. I hope I don't let him down, they didn't call him John Wins for nothing! As for Johns Black 06 GTO, it resides with his widowed wife and is alive and well I am told. I hope that one day Justin can get it one day,that would be awesome.

To close out our weekend we got matching memories of John and partied in the new year before we all headed back home.

23823.jpeg

23824.jpeg

As we all close out this holiday season, let's not forgot those who we've lost along the way. Know that you are not truly alone and there is always another way. Call a friend, family, loved one and check on them. Even when they say they're ok, check on them and let them know you're there for them.

http://www.mission22.com/#ourcause

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47