GTO Muurica Adventures: "Good news and Bad news"

in #blog7 years ago

20170812_100541.jpg

Well after giving it a few days of thought, I was ready to revisit my GTO conundrum. Now understand this type of thing isn't new for anyone whose every had a long term project of anykind. For me its more about what's best for the car and myself.

20170812_100559.jpg

Good news:

This morning after much needed motivation I began with the first stages of my damage evaluation. At first,not so bad, the rocker valley looks and the springs are all in one piece. After starting it the sounds isn't as bad it's cold and theres no telling what settled. Either way, its fixable and the car still otherwise starts and idles strong.

20170812_101512.jpg

20170812_101517.jpg

The Bad:

Well its not going to be cheap or a easy fix persay. That's not saying it's impossible,but definitely extremely bad timing. Could be anywere from a lifter and bad cam lobe/bearing or rod bearings.

The Next move:

Well it's a number of things like most, I'd want nothing but to say "I'll get around to fixing it". The problem is we don't always "Get around to it." That often leads to worthy saves into unsaveable messes. Lucky for me, I have had a few interest and one in particular seems like a good home. Afterall, the goal is to continue the journey of travel anf making memories.

Personally, I'd really like to see it go back to its former glory no matter whose hands its in. For those who've followed the story since day one ,drop a comment below. Where would you like to see the cars story go from here ?

Keep at it ? Send it to a good home? Win the lotto and send it to Nelson Racing engines (most unlikely).

Sort:  

i would say keep at it :D

Part of me really does, the fear is how long will it take to truely complete.

well you need to think of the time that you already invested. If you regret the time that you spent for it so long and you wish you did something else, then you shouldnt keep doing it if it doesnt feel right. Listen to your guts :D

Yeah I know,luckily, I still have it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47