Ride with me #41 : Caves and natural waterfalls (Day 25)

in #blog6 years ago

18th September

Travelling is not just about taking a picture against a beautiful backdrop, it is about learning the stories behind just backdrop and their cultural symbolism. Today I learnt one such story when I went to witness Nohkalikai Falls. It is one of the most beautiful and photogenic falls I have seen. At 335 meters it is the highest plunge waterfall in India and the 4th highest in the World.

The falls has a very tragic story to it though. A woman named Ka Likai remarried a man but her second husband was jealous of her daughter from the first marriage as she treated her with so much love, perhaps more than him. One day while she was away at work her husband cooked the girl and served it to her. After she had eaten it, she went looking for her baby girl and much to her dismay she found her daughter’s finger in a betel nut basket. Greatly saddened by this, she leaped off the fall. Thus, the fall came to be known as ‘Nohkalikai’ which is literally translated as, ‘Jump of Ka Lika'

_______________________________

Thank you for reading and stay tuned for more blogs

If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You can also check my recent posts:

1.Ride with me #40 : The thrilling climb to the Bamboo Tree House (Day 24)

2.Ride with me #39 : Shillong, so much in a day! (Day 23) Part 2

3.Ride with me #38 : Shillong, so much in a day! (Day 23) Part 1

Sort:  

You are exploring some nice places enroute...but such a terrible story behind the water fall....

Posted using Partiko Android

nice waterfall

Wow, very beautiful waterfall but the story behind it is terrible...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75