You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/16/18> Civil asset forfeiture…or as I call it, ”highway robbery”.

in #blog6 years ago

Fully aware, and I'm at least as pissed off as you are.

I am always polite and courteous when stopped. If I'm driving a 4 wheel vehicle you can almost bet my conversation is recorded. By me.

I have been nipped by a few traffic violations. And a couple of those people have started the above mentioned process. Doesn't work. If you want to look in my saddlebags you need a valid search warrant. And you and I will stand right here while we wait.

You see, I don't do drugs or alcohol. I can not be bully ragged into an improper search even though I have absolutely nothing to hide.

He can call the tow truck if he wants, but my car isn't going anywhere until I am arrested for a specific crime WITH probable cause.

That said, I am a rare bird. Most people just roll over. I'll bet I've seen a dozen of those stops on this trip. One was at an overlook for Grand Coulee Dam where the original stop was for 'windows tinted too dark'.

In case you were wondering there is no doubt that the car was from just across the river on the reservation. The second cop on the 'scene' actually waved at me.

#wakeupamerica I like it. It's time.

Thanks again for keeping my blood pressure adequately high to keep me in a fully conscience state.

Sort:  

Your welcome Tom, I keep my wife's blood pressure elevated as well, so it is nothing new for me.
Since I haven't been stopped since 1992 for traffic violation I can't tell how I handle them, I can tell that I feel the way you do," no warrant, no looking" , it is a matter of standing up for what is right and lawful.
I also have nothing to hide, but I am ready stand my ground when necessary.
I just got into my hotel, seven hours on the road, I saw four traffic stops along the way. One guy was at the back of his car in handcuffs with a cop watching him, the other cop was rummaging through the guys car. You know damn well they didn't have a search warrant.
Tinted widows to dark here is another one they use, but I always ask myself, how did it pass the mandatory yearly inspection? Maybe they did just get them tinted, but my son has a friend that has been pulled over for that, and the tint had been on the car when the kid bought it and he has had it three years.
Just another excuse to get them in a position to rob them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38