Why I feel movie theaters are stupid for going to assigned seating!

in #blog6 years ago

If the majority of people hate the idea of assigned seating at the movies why do they still do it?

I went to try and see the new Jumanji and was promptly told by a kiosk that my CHILD and I could buy seats but only ones that were no where near eachother. When I asked the only person there for help he basically told me fuck off! Thanks AMC Theatres you people RUINED theaters!

You wonder why your industry is dieing? I wanted to take my daughter to a 4pm show, that isn't exactly the HOT time to go to the movies, but little did I know because I didn't spend an extra $4 to pre-book my seats online I wasted my time driving to the theaters!

Now the movies went from something I go to when I really like it to FORGET IT I'll JUST WATCH IT ON MY 80" 4k IN 3-5 MONTHS AT HOME!

This theater took almost all the jobs out and made it a HIGHLY unfun experience. FYI there were 3 other groups walking out with the EXACT same experience. Over heard this one older couple say "I haven't been to a movie in a few months and we can't even sit together, I won't be coming back ever again"!

Movie Theaters are stupid! Their argument for making assigned seating and basically destroying the concept and idea of "last minute movie plans" (which made up the bulk of their sales) is:

"Why sit in a bad seat when you can guarantee a great one? Buy your movie tickets and reserve your seats on Fandango."

Well tell me this! IF there are bad seats in the theater, WHY WOULD I PAY TO PRE-RESERVE THEM???

Why not make EVERY seat good instead of basically forcing the "last minute" people to decide not to go since they can't even sit together thanks to assigned seating! The way the movies used to work was you all lined up at the time the movie was ready to open, first come, first serve, everyone who came together sat together!

NOW if you want to see a movie you HAVE to pay a "service booking fee" online and make sure no one you see later on that day/week decides they want to join you! This whole "assigned seating" has DESTROYED the entire concept of the movies and with all the other options today, and, how quickly the hit movies get released for bluray/etc it just seems movie theaters are dead!

I would not be long the movie industry going into the future!

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97