You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mom shaming, anyone?

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Hey Tamara! I'm not sure if you're much of a podcast girl, but I was listening to the Freakonomics podcast about parenting, and the data that either backs up or doesn't support various wives tales. It was super interesting and it might help give you some responses when people come and offer you "advice"...

Here is the link:

The Data-Driven Guide to Sane Parenting (Ep. 376)

If I remember correctly (I was exercising at the time) there was only really small differences between kids being breast-milk fed or bottle-fed. There was some benefits to the mother in terms of bonding, etc, but no data to really back up independence or behavior differences.

Sort:  

Hey @aussieninja
I'll check it out for sure! Thanks! The "sane parenting" part caught my attention :)

I'm all about letting others raising their children how ever they think it's appropriate, bottle or nursing, as long the baby is fed. But, you wouldn't believe the shame moms get on every step. It's funny to me now that I see it and rationalize it, but in the beginning it hurt A LOT!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78