The 30 Things I am grateful for... #gratitudetrain

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

When @jaynie started the #gratitudetrain, I thought it is easy peasy and can be done within 10 minutes. But it took me longer than that. Usually I can only think of 10 easily, but to put 30 things down; it actually got me thinking and I ponder upon the purpose of this post. I realized that, perhaps I had taken certain things for granted; but if those things did not happen, Reena.K would not be the person she is today.

So here are 30 Things that I am grateful for, they are not in particular order after number 10, yet they all play an important part in my life.

  1. I believe in God, so I am grateful for everything that HE have given me. There are times where I am lost and stuck because I was in a tough situation, but my journey is a proof that faith has taken me to places I never expect. It only gets better.
  2. This year has been a bit challenging for me, and I am grateful to my parents that are always there for me wherever I am. They may not be physically with me since I am away from home, but they are my source of support whenever I feel like I am going to break down in a foreign country. They also support my tuition fees and expenses abroad.
  3. I am grateful that I am still in good health, that I never stayed in the hospital because of illness.
  4. I am grateful that I have this internship opportunity in a Chinese startup that taught me so many things, and I became a media manager in a month.
  5. I am grateful to my 2 friends back home(Carmen and Ruyi), who never cease to ask about when I'm coming home so we could meet up. We celebrate our 11 years of friendship and it is still going strong.
  6. I am super grateful to the existence of Internet, it makes communication 10 times easier. Though I will still send cards and letters for special occasions.
  7. I am once again grateful to my dad, who introduce me to Steemit and the wonders of cryptocurrency. Dad inspired me to work hard and be grateful for everything we have.
  8. I am grateful to Steemit, because it help me to recover from the pain of relationship breakup. I was actively writing for 7 months and it helped me so much. It polished my writing skills too
  9. I am grateful to the #steemitbloggers family, something about them is so warm and they taught me a lot when I first joined them. They also bring joy and laughter when I read the funny conversations in the "general_chat".
  10. I am grateful to you my readers, for always supporting me by reading, upvoting and commenting. It makes the whole writing process worth it just to read your feedback and comments, plus I am able to interact with you.
  11. When it comes to opening my eyes to entrepreneurship, I am grateful to Natta Cosme, who allowed me to work there for a short while when I was 19. The pay was so miserable, $140 for 24 days a month, 10a.m.- 7p.m. and my boss wasn't encouraging at all; however that experience sparked the firing desire in me to be successful. Yes, that was the start of a new hunger.
  12. I am grateful to the friends I made in Beijing. In particular Bree, Thida, Ken and Artem. We share certain common traits; each of them is like a part of who I am today.
  13. I am grateful to my Aussie friend, Bree. Who's is like the fiery part of me that wants to succeed. Although the way we do stuff can be really different, we still influence each other in a way that I can't really describe.
  14. Thida, my Cambodian friend whom I met in Beijing, is the feminine side of me. She loves, nurtures and cares. I felt like I have gained a sister
  15. I am grateful to my Chinese friend Ken, who is probably one of the most outgoing Chinese person I ever know. She speaks her mind, and she is not shy about setting up group dates with guys I am not interested in. But I will go anyway because she is my friend.
  16. I am grateful to my friend, Artem. Who is like the brother I never have. His patience and kindness help me a lot when I needed encouragement and support.
  17. I am grateful to my current school, the International Business School that provides a lovely environment for me to learn in Beijing.
  18. I am grateful to my marketing professor, Professor D.S who opened my eyes to what marketing really is.
  19. I am grateful to my Chinese Language teacher, Mr Zhang. Who taught me well and make me fall in love in the language I once hate. Yes, I hated mandarin because it was so difficult.
  20. I am grateful to my previous university, Sultan Idris Education University, for making me grasp the English language stronger than ever, I went crazy in literature and creative writing.
  21. I am grateful to the Public University Intake system in Malaysia back then, my application rejection despite 3.8 CGPA upset me and I left my country to go abroad.
  22. I am grateful to Beijing, who welcomes me by presenting its economic boom before me. I've been living without using physical cash and everything on my phone.
  23. I am grateful to my mum, who forced me to learn mandarin for 10 years. I can now communicate with Chinese manufacturers online now.
  24. Of course, I am grateful to Jack Ma, creator of Alibaba, who owns online shopping platform Taobao (my ultimate favourite) Eleme (Food delivery app). He and his team made my life so easy and convenient in China. It impact my life so much that I miss Beijing when I'm in Malaysia.
  25. I am grateful to both my sisters, who added so much value into my life. Their presence make our home warm with joy and laughter throughout the years. Because of them, I learn to be responsible so I can protect them when my parents are away.
  26. I am grateful to my teachers back in school, in particular Mdm. Choo, who is the advisor of the Christian Fellowship back then. From that school society, I learn and grow so much, and gain friends that do not judge and stay by me all the time through thick or thin
  27. I am grateful to my the friends I made in my previous university back home. We were such good friends that we chose to be housemates too.
  28. I’m grateful to my grandmother, who spoiled me for a good seven years when I was a kid. God bless her soul.
  29. I am grateful to my 93 year old nan, who is still active and doing well back home. She still cooks whenever I visit her and gave me advice. She do have 9 decades of experience on earth.
  30. I am grateful to motivational speakers like Les brown, his tapes has change the way I think and believe. The reason why I am more optimistic about life and I don’t quit is because listening to those talks change my mindset.

So.. here is a list of first 30, and I shall make it habit everyday. Thanks @jaynie for the lovely initiative.


Profile
Reena.K(pen name) is a member of steemit, content writer and editor for several products on the market. Team leader of Overseas Media Marketing for a Chinese startup in Beijing, the team and her has lead several PR successes, most notably MESAY 2, a project that was launched on Kickstarter. Currently, Reena is working on the PR for SOX, a new fashion brand by TOHSI Industrial Creative.
She has worked with several internet influencers and bloggers. If you're interested to work with Reena.K, please DM on her social media and send an email.
She also consults students who want to study abroad as part of the SA program by the International Business School of Beijing Foreign Studies University

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

This is an awesome list to be grateful for, @asianetwork! This is quite a challenge and you were definitely up for it!

yup! it got me to appreciate things in my life

Quite the list and nice that you still send cards, very special touch that is fast becoming extinct with email and social media.

Ya, i still like to send cards for christmas. Nothing like receiving a warm greeting card in the mail box

I really like your #1. Put God first. Many people would add God at #10, or something, but you put Him right at the top. And then your parents. Good for you.

Yes, I always put that as #1 no matter what. It shapes who I am today, and I am always grateful.

Amazing. How wonderful to still have your Nan - and that she cooks for you. So special.

yup... she said it keeps her mind active. She can do a rubiks cube too

This is a long list of train.. So much gratefulness from you dear.. :) Thank God for everyone in your life. Thank God for you being you.

ya... it is very long. Maybe I should break it into parts. Thanks for reading them😊

Ahh.. Don't need break into half. This is good. Really can see you are surrounded by many awesome people. You are awesome!

WOW that is surely a great long list!!! I am sure you felt really good upon completing this post, @asianetwork :)

Yes, Indeed! it took awhile but at least i got it done. Thx for dropping by !

Awwe, soo touching.
What a wonderful writing and yes, there’s a lot of things in this world to be grateful for ❤️

thanks for reading =) ❤

This article is beautiful..

thanks, and its long. 😂

YAY!!!! This is SO AWESOME!!! Hope you are going to do another 30 :) hehehe LOVE IT!!!

lol, i made myself to think and write down all 30.

Wowo...thats what one is too too..good👌👌.you have covered everything..god , family, friends colegues.....and all litttle things that is essential...great to read👍...

Loved your footer detailz..great to have everything..👌

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks! the footer details is like a mini bio? I'm working on building the profile. and it certainly got your attention =D

Hahah....small thing always catch my eye to make it big..😉 but nice bio with so much exlerience behind. 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73