Why I took a hiatus from Steemit: But, Now I am Back and Ready for Action!!!!!!!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Why I took a Hiatus from Steemit

But! Now I am Back and Ready for Action!!!

Why I took a Hiatus From Steemit.png

Like many of you, I am normally quite consistent with my online social media attention. But, 3 months back, my off screen life hit hard. Life went in a totally different direction and things became impossible to keep up. I know, that sounds strange coming from me when I advocate that the word itself means “I’m Possible!”. Each day was a bigger struggle to keep my social media life out of my personal life and vis versa. The more I tried to separate them, the more I failed. See, we all have a certain image we keep up on-screen, right? Same with me! I am the writer, the blogger, the entrepreneur with too many fires going at once. But, it is the things people did not see that stopped me in my tracks.

There is no way to separate social media life from personal life. You just wing it!

Many people swear they can separate their social media life with their personal life and I would love to know exactly how truthful they are being in that statement. You really cannot separate them, especially if you work from home. That’s why 3 months ago everything came to a crashing STOP! You see, there are many things you do not know about me. At the same time, many things I try to hide. But, after reading a very compelling article, I have chosen to not hide my personal life as much.

Introductions Are In Order

Untitled design (3).png

"No measure of time with you would be long enough, but lets start with forever!"

This man right here, is one of those distractions. He’s the love of my life. The person I fight for every day, the reason I do what I do and the reason I am the person I am today. Sounds kind of cliche like, right? Well! It is the truth. See, on the outside he looks like a normal person, just like you or I. But, looks are deceptive to say the least. There’s a big secret we’ve kept for as long as we can. You see, he has severe epilepsy. That’s where a portion of his brain fires the wrong way and causes these really bad seizures. If you have never witnessed one yourself, you cannot imagine the life threatening illness he has to fight every day. Now, it is not like he has not had these seizures before. In fact, he’s had them for as long as I can remember and we’ve been together for over 11 years. He was diagnosed young! Making a long story short, even with his anti-seizure medications, everything started failing 3 months ago. He went from having 2 to 3 grand-mal seizures a week to having 5 within an hour. The doctors really did not help my stress level! It’s down to this, have epilepsy surgery or possibly die from a seizure overload one day. You can imagine what my answer was almost immediately!

Now, let’s add in the fact that I have severe crohn’s disease and my stress slash flares were out of control. Work was suffering, bills piling up, and I left with one option. To get my butt back to work! In case you don’t know, crohn’s disease is a severe digestive disorder that is incurable just like epilepsy. The only difference is I do not have seizures. I have what we call ‘flares’ and for your sake I won’t explain what that is. You can google that if you like. I’ve had crohn’s pretty much all my life but, was finally diagnosed eleven years ago. It affects everything I do. That is why I work from home. I have no boss to answer to and no one asking me why I am in the bathroom instead of at my work station. Yeah! Trust me a lot of bosses have yet, to understand that people with crohn’s disease cannot control what happens.

So! Why am I telling You All Of this?


Because, you are my online family, my followers, my avid readers. You deserve a no painted up, bull crap, total truth of why I took a hiatus from steemit these past 3 months. I could not find the courage to write or even the words to form. I would sit here and wait for something to hit me but, it never did. Then! The other day, I sat down like I usually did and stories came flooding out of my fingers as if someone turned on the lights.

You deserve the truth and not just some picture I wanted to paint you The truth is life has been a struggle these past three months. I still am working on crawling us out of the many stresses we have. But, there is a light at the end of the tunnel Buddy, my husband, has his first epilepsy surgery evaluation coming up in a couple months and I finally got out of my crohn’s flare. Actually, I am back working again and ready to bring you more stories and helpful tips just as I did before. But, there has to be a change. Instead of being so hush hush about my off-screen life you will be hearing a bit more about what’s going on and how things are going. I hope that is okay with you.

For now, I am just happy to be back talking with everyone and catching up. I feel like I missed so much.

Tell me,

How has it been going for you while I was away?

Help me get caught up!

Steemit Footer.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @ashleyonline! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lovely story. One has got get one's priorities all straightened out. Let's face it social media will consume you alive if you are not truly in control of your situation. You did the right thing and I admire your strength of character.

Aww! Thank you @rlt47 And, yes, you are absolutely correct. Social media will consume you. That was part of my problem. About half of my business is worked over social media and when you have that plus life pulling at you the only thing you can do is walk away for a bit and get everything straightened out and back on track. I'm just happy to be back even if I may not have all the kinks worked out just yet, I know everything will be okay. Just so long as I take one day at a time.

I have only been on this platform for a few days now, and my well crafted routine is already taking a pounding! Anyways, best wishes and smooth journey forward!

It does get easier to manage. I don't know if you use any writing programs but, I have found writing my posts in advance with google docs saves me loads of time. It also frees on my time to comment and respond to others comments on my posts. Best wishes, it is a really awesome platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66