How To Build A Cheap Fence. Pt 1.

in #blog5 years ago

Today, I decided to make a start on building a fence to split my garden into two, this is so my kids can have somewhere to play and I have a space for my butterfly garden.

I looked online and found that fence panels cost a lot these days at about £18 per fence panel and £10 a fence post that isn't including concrete to hold the posts in place either.

I looked around for other ideas but everything costs money and that isn't something that I have right now as I am a little broke with not been in work.

I was going to build a fence like @papa-pepper had shown in a video I asked him to do for me and it was a cheaper option than buying a wooden fence, but still was out of my budget.

I decided to go for a pallet fence, there was two options, either keep the pallets together and sink them into the soil and leave as is, or take them apart and make a open panel fence, I decided option 2 was the way forward.

I drove around some light industrial units to see if there was any to collect and my normal places I get these from had been cleaned out about a week ago by another guy, so my luck wasn't in.

I drove to another industrial site and they happened to have 5 pallets that I could have, I was happy to take what they had got as it would do for now.

I placed them in my car and even swept the wood that had broken off some of the pallets before I went on my way home with them.

When I got home I took them up the garden and laid them out stood up to see if there was enough with what I had, then it was from there that I made my choice what I was doing with them.

60253286_2256198954645133_286658912042614784_n.jpg

I got to work taken them apart, laying all the wood down on the floor so I could then take the nails out.

60116709_304416137155624_7309056768875692032_n.jpg

Once all the nails were out of the wood I made two piles, one pile with wood that was for the posts, these were the two inch thick ones, and the others in another pile for the panels.

it was a hard job getting to this point, and then the unthinkable happened, it f*cking rained, it wasn't a small light shower neither, this was to the point that in the few seconds it took me to get to the back of the car it looked like someone had thrown a bucket of water over me.

I was rained off, and when the sun came out for a few minutes the wood in the piles was two wet to continue as it would be in possible to mount the panels on the wood.

I will be finishing it off soon but today it is a stand still until better weather.

love to you all

@artonmysleeve.

Sort:  

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.642 which ranks you at #5321 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 190 places in the last three days (old rank 5511).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #167.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44