Diary of a pizza delivery dude.

in #blog6 years ago

Tonight, is cold. fact. and tonight I learned a little life lesson, that is don't drive like a crazy person when there is black ice on the roads.

It has got colder through the night, and while I was out on the last delivery of the night, I had to phone the customer to find out where I had to go.

He answered the phone and was a little off hand with me as he had told the guy in the shop his address many times and wanted his food.

I told him I would be with him very quick, but I had to turn my car around, I decided to turn around at a roundabout as it is easier to do this than a 3 point turn with the problems I have with my clutch.

I headed down to the roundabout and popped on the breaks, but there was something wrong, the car just kept going, my heat in my mouth, I knew I had gone over some black ice and the car was continuing to move forward without me controlling it.

I braced for impact as my car went up the curb and over some grass, the breaks were on and the car must have gained traction as the car came to a stop with about 1" away from a lamp post.

Lady luck was in my corner tonight as my car would have taken out the lamp post and would have probably written off my car.

I managed to get it off the grass banking and back on the road with no problems but still I was a little worried that I might have done some damage.

I would have hated to think what would have happened if a car had been on the other side of me as I hit that ice at a little speed.

I am not saying I was speeding as that would be daft but I was going towards the roundabout like I would if it was sunny and warm weather and that is my problem.

It is the first time for this to happen to me, and now I know to take my time, if the customer hadn't had been funny with me on the phone It probably wouldn't have happened as my head was telling me to go quick to get there for this person.

Good News.

I did get some good news tonight though, there was a guy who worked with us and I found out tonight that he had quit. I am so happy.

You might think this is strange to be like this about another member of staff but this guy was a real prick.

He would tell me every shift that he was with a different girl every night, like it was something to be proud of, and he would also tell me about the pain he was in when he pee'd.

I said to him that he needed to get himself checked out but his response was, if god wanted him to have this then thats the way it needed to be.

He has a girlfriend who worries about him, but still he plays away from home, he would talk to girls in the shop and they would complain and tell him that his way of talking to them was out of order.

We deliver to knocking shops, and they would phone to place their orders, he would be rude to them on the phone and say inappropriate things.
We have lost regular customers because of his behaviour and this to me was a massive down fall to the shops loss in profits.

One place that he did piss off I went to as a guy had ordered from us, while I was there I talked to the lady who works behind the bar area, and I explained to her that we would like her custom and the guy doesn't work there.
I asked her to give us another chance and she is reluctantly going to use our shop again, this is all down to a guy who thinks its funny to destroy other peoples live by been a dick.

Many things this guy has done and I think it is going to take a lot to bring back the customers that we have lost.

@artonmysleeve

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66