A shoplifter A wanna be gangster and a Pizza delivery man. a day in the life.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Hiya guys.

From time to time I have been known to deliver a few pizzas and this takes me on a some little journeys this one was a crazy night that would be one for the books.

Before going to work I had to call into my local supermarket to get something to eat, this was an interesting visit as soon as I walked through the door the security guard was not at his station in the place but he was stood hid in a corner looking into the cafe.

I went and got myself a chicken wrap and went to go and pay at the tobacco stand, while I was stood there the lady behind the counter gave me a smile as I asked her what the guard was doing.

She explained that the security officer had been following someone for a while now and she had made her way to the cafe without paying for the shopping in her trolly.

As i was talking to the lady the lady who the guard was watching made her way from the cafe pretending to be on her mobile phone towards the exit of the shop.

I watched as she walked out with a trolly full of food out of the doors as the guard and a member of management followed her and brought her back into the shop.

I stood talking to the lady behind the counter while watching the on goings with the shoplifter, it has been about 10 years since I worked security and the way he handled the lady was a textbook stop and the lifter came out with the same excuses as I used to hear.

"I was on the phone, I wasn't going anywhere"

"I have money, why would I walk out with this shopping"

"This is ridiculous I have never done it before, why would I do it now"

"You can't stop me from leaving I have done nothing wrong"

It was only because I had to leave for work that I didn't hear anymore of what she had to say, but there are a few tell tale signs that gave her a way and to me should looked like she was known to doing this stuff before.

This was the start to an interesting shift, my first delivery of the night was not much better than licking a razor blade, I had to go to a flat which was 3 miles away from the shop and normally it would take me about 10 minutes to get there.

I set off and hit rush hour traffic, this was the worst traffic I had been in like forever, I was bumper to bumper and nowhere to go, a ten minute journey took me 1 hour and 10 minutes to get there and the customer thought that it was funny.

later the same night i had to go into a pub that is notorious for its crime, i hate walking into places like this as when people have had a drink they can be sometimes a little funny with you.

When I arrived at the pub and walked through the door I was told by a kid to watch my back, this kid was about 7 years old as he pointed the way to a table with about 8 guys sat around it, these were not old guys like you see in British pubs but more hooligans that are just there to get drunk and rip the place apart.

The guy was sat at the table and told me to put the food down and walk away, I told him he had to pay for his pizza, he said he ain't paying for shit and that I should walk out before there was trouble.
I stood my ground, i told him ever he paid for the food or I was taking it with me, his response was a classic one, Are you getting clever with me blood?

Who calls some one blood? someone who is just out for trouble, I looked at him and said either pay or I am going, one of the lads got up and then stood behind me, ermmm what should one do now I was thinking, this is going to turn ugly I thought.

Show No Fear

I asked again, are you going to pay or what? I am busy and dealing with this is just taking the piss..
the guy looked at me and pulled out a fiver from his pocket, I'll give you a fiver for it he said, I replied, that's fine, I will take half the pizza back with me.

Was this the right move? he then pulled out of his pocket a number of bank notes that could buy a small house, and gave me the tenner that he owned for his food.

Thank you I replied, I looked at the note and thought to myself I know I will push this one step further, What, no tip?

Yes I asked the guy who didn't want to pay for his pizza for a tip, his face was a picture, he then said to me that i was lucky to be walking out of the pub and to go away. haha.

I got back to the shop and now the pub is blacklisted for this turn of events.

This is all in a days life of a pizza delivery guy.

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

Next time bring Chuck Norris with you; they'll be glad to give you the tip as well ...

I thought chuck norris had crocked it, haha, well if he is in the UK I will give him a ring next time. :D

Your life is like a real-life "snow crash" lol

it feels like it it really does, I have seen some shit mate. :D

did you get my comment about being a cartoonoff judge?

I did buddy, send me a link to discord and I'll chat with you in there, can't find you as it asks for the 4 digit pin. :D

https://discord.gg/jfr8tYX
try this one just generated the link today
I had also tried just sending you an invite from the channel as apparently we share a different channel

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.436 which ranks you at #6706 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 33 places in the last three days (old rank 6739).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #252.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65777.74
ETH 2616.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68