A bit of a shock while I was shopping in B&M yesterday.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

I had to find somewhere that sold a universal charger as my laptop charger broke, I thought that B&M would be a good place to start as they have electronic items in there.
I parked walked up the stairs and into their shop, I walked around looking and looking but could not find one, so I asked a member of staff to help, she explained that because they're a small shop they didn't carry that sort of equipment and I should go to a computer shop on London Road. I didn't really fancy trecking on there as it is a busy road, there is nowhere to park and I know computer shops and they put their prices up.

So as I walked down another aisle I noticed that there were Christmas decorations for sale, along with Christmas trees, two staff members were putting these items on the shelves, I stopped and said: "it's a little early for Christmas don't you think?" the lady turned to me and said "Christmas starts on September the 1st in this shop". (what the fuck is all I could think)

Christmas to me is an event that starts in December NOT September, we still haven't had Halloween or bonfire night, So from today, I refuse to go in there out of principle and if I go in any other shops from till December I'm going to treat them the same.

Christmas is already stressful enough as it is, but to remind us that it's only a few months away really gets on my tits.

What do you guys think? Do you think I'm over reacting?

Drew

drew.jpg

Sort:  

It makes me cross. Just pushing the consumerism mindset on people.... buy buy buy!! Totally ridiculous.

HaHa! I've been in stores (Hobby Lobby) when they start putting Christmas stuff out in July!! I agree...at least wait until end of October to start putting Christmas stuff out! But I guess people are buying it then so it's not necessarily the stores fault 🎄 🎅

If it was not there to buy then the temptation to get it would be gone. I bet no body goes on ebay in the middle of September and buys xmas stuff, if they do they need their heads looking at hahaha. any way fivepoints hows things?

We need to start a new campaign - No Christmas Before Halloween!! :)

Fantastic! New to Steemit but loving the community!

I'm new too, only been on here 6 weeks, my rep score went up pretty quick Its slowed down now but I'm not on here as much as i was in the beginning as I've taken work on. but the campaign is a good Idea. I think maybe we should boycott buying for xmas unitl december 1st, that would put a dampener on these big corporate shops.

Yes!!

I think the rep score is made to go up quickly when it's low, but slow down when it gets higher. Gets you interested when you're new. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85