Where have I been? The absence of @artist1989 from Steemit Explained :) (& Christmas Decorating Photos!)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Before my recent post last night, it had been a while since I had posted on Steemit. I thought I would take a moment to let you know what I have been up to this past month..

I have been sharing my Christmas decorating ideas online for years. One thing I have realized is that people "shop" for Christmas decorating ideas very early - like late October.

Would you believe that last year I posted a Christmas tree decorating video showcasing a new ribbon technique BEFORE Halloween!? It (Wave Ribbon Christmas Tree Video) currently is my highest viewed YouTube video at 474,500 views! I think the main reason for the video's popularity was the fresh tree decorating technique, but also because I was one of the first to post a Christmas video that season.

This year I had a late start Christmas decorating because I was at Steemfest until November 6th. 10 days might not seem like much missed time, but I was struggling to get all the Christmas decorating/videos/photography done in time for the season. Also, I was tired and trying to get used to the hours of time difference due to jet-lag from Portugal. But I worked hard, and here are the results :)

(All of these are pictures of decor that I put together this year in the last month.)


Here is the main Christmas tree done in a traditional style with beaded garlands, glass ornaments of every color, family ornaments, and 1,500 lights!


Here is a close-up of the mantel decorations, decorated to match the tree:
thumb.jpg


The main floor guest room Christmas tree - decorated with feathers, white, soft gold, and ice blue ornaments:
Feather tree.jpg

feather tree close.jpg


The Nativity displayed with a decorated garland and wreath:
Nativity Display 2.jpg


The main floor dining table centerpiece with over-sized glass ornaments:


A handmade felt Christmas advent calendar (the ornaments start out pinned to the dates and one by one each day are added to the tree):


Decorations and village display in the main floor dining room:


Gift wrap - (I am giving everyone in my family my collection of Steemit short stories book: "The Little Book with a Big Voice") :)
gift wrap.jpg


Decor with mini tree of ornaments I purchased in Germany :)
basement christmas dresser.jpg


Family Room Christmas tree:

Family Room Fireplace Decorations:
fireplace mantel basement crop.jpg


Lower Level Dining Area:
sled.jpg


Mini Tree of Vintage Ornaments:
Vintage Mini Tree 2.jpg


And finally, some outdoor decorations (with snow!) :)
Snow Christmas Yard 2017.jpg


After the holidays are over (and after I get all the Christmas decorations "Tetrised" back into the Christmas closet lol), I plan on writing again. One of my first planned projects is a sequel to my Steemit series "InBetween". I have been very excited to get started on this new project, and I have already written 5 chapters of InBetween 2!

I also would like to write more sentimental short stories and share them here on Steemit, but the inspiration for those strike at random (usually right when I am about ready to go to bed lol).

So there you have it! The explanation for my Steemit absence =)

Thank you to all my followers who still follow me through the "3 posts a day" to the "1 post a month" times - I really appreciate it! :)


Thanks for reading! If you would like to check out any of my decorating videos that show the process of creating the trees/decor from start to finish - here is a link to my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsK4NY4Zyn_Tv3T7EKGmIhQ


Steemit banner image 1.jpg

Sort:  

You are supremely talented, wow.

The Christmas tree with feathers, and soft gold is my favorite - that certainly took you some time.

Also, the picture of the back yard with snow and decorations is magical.

Where have I been? The absence of @artist1989 from Steemit Explained :)

YES!!!

Where have you been. I manually check your blog a couple times a week... you're a favorite poster of mine, moreso when it's not story writing, but practical arts, crafts, decorating, and the fun of it.

...I did notice you missing, and I am super happy your back in full-form.

They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder ... but when the beholder shares the beauty in his eye with everyone else too... the beholder becomes beautiful as well.

There is a happiness and sincereness in what you post that is contagious. When you're happy in life and talk about it, I find myself finding happiness too. When you're absent for weeks... I miss you.

Glad to see you are back.

Thanks for your thoughtful response! I am glad you enjoy the artistic posts! I will try to keep that in mind and post some of them when I start posting story chapters :)

Also, followers like you are wonderful - I can always tell by your responses that you look/read my posts that you comment on (not just making a comment based on the title, or typing something short/generic just to move on to commenting the same thing on 80 other posts in 5 minutes lol). Some people do this (I check lol). That is why your comments deserve an upvote. :)

Well to be honest, I find myself staring at your photos too. There is just something about them that makes me pause and think. You truly are an artist. :)

Beautilful decoration man

Oh wow!! Those are some beautiful Christmas decorations!! How Cheery!!

Holy Moly @artist1989 - you go all out!
I haven't decorated my house for the holidays in nearly a decade. I might just plaster your pictures around the house. LOL Merry Christmas.

Merry Christmas to you too! :)

Fabulous and very creative decorating... Love the white feather tree.

The last pic was the incredible one so beautiful to see

missed you @artist1989 :) what nice decoration. Gonna show that to my girlfriend, she is fond on christmas :)

So charming and impressive clicks jingle bell jingle bell jingle all the way :)
have an awesome time

Beautiful decorations for the Christmas celebration :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97