You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 07/04/18> Why do we celebrate the 4th of July anyway?

in #blog6 years ago

Tell us how you really feel. It really is frustrating when you think about it. Fishing is about the same here in Canada...and the Game Warden can take your car and your gear, on the spot!, if you are breaking the fishing laws. Solutions? Has it gone too far? I don't know.

Sort:  

I can't speak for Canada, I have only been there once and was thrown out of the country as quickly as I got there. I can say that here in the USA , I supposedly have a constitution that protects my God given rights and of those are the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Having all these licensing and regulations interferes with my pursuit of happiness when it comes to fishing and that is a direct violation of my rights.
If Canada is anything like the USA when it comes to your rights then yours are being violated as well. I don't know that the game warden here can confiscate your car or fishing gear lawfully but I don't think that would stop them from trying if they decided to do it for breaking a fishing law.
I'll answer your questions for you; "has it gone to far?" You know damn well it has, so don't say, "I don't know." , it has and it really needs to stop.
As far as solutions go, and I think this would apply in Canada as well, we need to go back to the law of the land which here in the USA is common law. I am 90% certain that common law was also the law of the land in Canada.
If you are not familiar with common law you need to read up on it. The only way there can be an issue at common law is when someone is injured or damaged by another person's actions. It doesn't necessarily mean bodily harm, stealing someone's property damages them as much as punching them in the face. You get the point I'm fairly certain on that.
The fact of the matter is the state can't point to a person and say I "damaged or injured" that person by not having a fishing license.
When common law was replaced by codes and statutes, all our rights became in jeopardy of being violated and they sure have been.
The state uses it as just a money making scheme charging people with victim-less crimes in order to gain money they otherwise wouldn't be able to extract from people like you and me.
So, going back to common law would be the first step in the solution process, there might be other steps as well, but that would be first on the list.
Thanks for stopping in and I enjoyed listening today to you on PYPT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45