Steem isn't a Fiat currency, it's a commodity...also, could they get rid of the waiting period to get verified?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steemit a little less than a month now. took me a bit to get my head round the crypto currency thing, and using the site in general. I still have a lot to learn but two things jump right out at me.

First, Steem unlike other cryptocurrencies IS backed by something. It's a commodity as far as I see it. It is backed by an amount of influence on a social media site. Influence on a social media site...is there a more valuable commodity out there than that in 2018? In human history "influence" has always been very valuable. Steem may be the first time actual quantifiable monetary value has been attached to it.

The value will climb as the amount of people on Steem grows. The monkey wrench in the works right now is the extended period of time it takes for someone to get verified.

I have 4000 some odd followers on instagram, several thousand friends on FB, and most if not all of them are looking for someplace new, and/or someplace more friendly to people who make content. I could spread the word to my fans tomorrow and have no trouble getting a few thousand people signed up...if not for the waiting period. As foreword thinking as the rest of Steem is, this waiting period is something out of the last century. People online, curious about new things, will just move on rather than wait. If they do sign up, they'll likely no longer care or forget what Steem is by the time they get the verification email. This waiting period is a giant encumbrance for growth.

It a bigger issue than anything else because all the rest, the lack of results for new people when they post, the slightly confusing aspect of Steem/Steem tokens/Steem dollars, the less than user friendly way of searching for things/people would be overcome by a glut of curious new people being able to just jump on and poke around and figure things out.

Anyways...I like it here, I'm going to put effort into it and into helping it grow (for whatever my efforts are worth).

Thanks, that's all I wanted to point out, and if I'm all wet on something feel free set me straight. Next time, back to making with the funny.

Sort:  

On a side note...it'd be nice to get alerted ( or maybe they do and I don't know how to see it) when someone resteems something of yours. It'd be nice to be able to give a "hey, thanks for that!", y'know?

Agreed. I use a phone app called Steemify to keep up on most things, but it doesn't have a setting for resteem notifications that I know of! If I look at my own blog I'll occasionally see a nice listing of who all resteemed each post, but it doesn't seem consistent or give a direct notification.

There's lots of things that do that. I use steemworld.org. It tells you all sorts of things including mentions, resteems etc.

Second the recommendation of SteemWorld for notifications, it's indispensable.

There's lots of little helper sites like those mentioned by others. In the beginning before you know about any of this it can be really frustrating figuring out what's going on, but then you talk to people, like you're doing now and get all the pro tips :) Here's one you might be interested in
http://steemit.serviceuptime.net/check_resteem.php

Also if you don't have it already you should get the SteemPlus chrome extension. It has most of what you need built in.

Hey, thanks! I had no clue that there was stuff you could get/add to Steemit. I'll poke around and try to figure how to use this stuff.

You are not wrong at all! I can’t contradict any of what you’re saying, only offer a bit of context and hope.

Steemit Inc. is obviously aware of the signup issues and it’s been discussed a long time. The next big update, “Hardfork 20”; also referred to as Velocity, is largely focused on the issue. It’s been a long time coming, but in a recent update @steemitblog at least said...

”Hardfork 20 has been on the back burner for a while as we focused on scalability-related solutions, but it is time to put it back on the front burner. We don’t have an exact date for the hardfork yet, but we are targeting early Q3 of 2018. More details will be shared on HF20 as the development progresses.”

I do feel there has been some deliberate dragging of the feet, keeping the Steemit site, signups, etc. clamped down a bit as it’d be useless to open the floodgates of millions of users only to create a crash! Under the current system it takes perhaps 10 Steem Power to have enough bandwidth to freely and non frustratingly interact with the blockchain. There are roughly 250 million Steem in existence... so right now Steemit has to tap out at a fairly small user base! This is what will be addressed soon hopefully!

I think the wait time for account registration is often softened and better tolerated if it is explained that the site basically has to give the new user some free money to play with! Brings a big reversal to the idea of a “pay site.”

I like your description of Steem as a commodity. It encapsulates the esoteric concept of an “attention economy” very well. I’ve greatly enjoyed being reintroduced to your art here, and love your enthusiasm and willingness to promote Steem!

The people who would probably understand Steemit best at the moment would be gamers. It’s like the launch of a new game. It’ll be glitchy, crash, and overall suck for a while. Then come the patches & stability. But if you want to claim your screen name and grind out some levels ahead of the masses, you’ve gotta be dedicated and patient!

I'm glad you found me, I felt a bit like a wallflower at a strangers party for a bit there, haha! “attention economy”...that's a good way to put it, too. Funny you should mention gamers, because people using gaming analogies have made to most progress in getting me to understand this whole thing. I will press on while waiting with hope that the restriction sign up gets worked out.

I've always felt like Steemit is kind of the "PVP Server" of social media sites. Luckily, I always enjoyed playing on PVP servers! (and it's very much a "sandbox" game... another thing I enjoy!)

Haha, I should have put an asterix next to mentioning help from gamers, as I'm not actually a gamer myself and most of what you said went over my head (PVP...player vector..uhm..picker?). Last game I played was AVGN adventures...which is basically a parody of an old nintendo game.

LOL, thankfully I haven’t really gamed in over a decade, or I’d never get anything done! Quick translation & education... PVP = player vs. player, wherein people are free to attack each other! And sandbox = an open world where the game gives no direction and you are free to make of it what you want. Both appropriate analogies to Steem I’ve always felt!

Great, that you address this. I think as all of us on Steem right now are very much the early adopters, who not only are dedicated but also don't mind the initial barriers of entry, like the waiting period, or the at first very complicated cryptocurrency/blockchain model of the whole project, the site still needs a lot of improvement and tweaking to attract a bigger audience.
I mean what is up with the search engine and the start site? Trending, new, hot and promoted all seem like the very same thing to me and that kind of design doesn't cater to what I'm looking for on Steemit at all. So yeah, not the best user-friendly experience by now, but so much potential!
Besides all that, looking forward to the next funny, keep posting 'em!

I'm willing to assume that they notice the same things we do and are working on them, but yeah...Trending, new, hot and promoted...all pretty much the same, and who searches for that anyway? Only the mortally bored. everyone else is going to search a specific subject they are interested in - Avengers, Grimes, Deadwood, and the searchable for that will give you stuff off site as much as on site

If you have some specific people you want to bring on who can start producing good content, talk to me about it on Discord. Existing users can start new accounts immediately at a smallish cost and I'm willing to put some money into that if I have some guarantee that they'll start earning and will get to the point where they can run on their own quickly.

Thanks! messaged you on discord

I agree. I've been on Steemit more or less the same amount of time, and the strategy doesn't seem too effective. Then again, they might have a plan with it all, like creating demand from exclusiveness or something...

I'd guess they have a plan. It'd be nice if they could get on with it already. I'd be happy to post content here that I don't show anywhere else or sneak previews...but pragmatically speaking...if I have 4000 followers on Instagram and get 4-500 or more likes there it makes little sense to put exclusive content here instead. I may get no direct dough from insta, but I get online orders, so... Once they get the verification thing sped up I can start putting excusive content here and telling peopl in insta to come here to see it.

It would probably be more effective, yes. This is great, though. I'm having my best blogging moment since I was featured on Wordpress Discover right now on today's steemit-post, and this time I get paid :) :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87