My life living under today’s poverty line

in #blog7 years ago

Today fellow bloggers and readers, is an in-depth look into my life as of today living below the poverty line here in canada 🇨🇦.

Firstly though, let me tell you that even as I’m writing this My bank account is 34$ overdrawn and I am still about 2000$ in debt.

This is where It all began.
I was 17 years old just beginning to wonder about life outside of living under my parents roof, I dreamt of big money big apartments and a lavish lifestyle.
But alas that was not to be, I left the safety and security of my folks place on my 18th birthday, Took a bus up north.
What awaited me I will never forget. I had to job experience, no certification, nothing. But I still tried to find myself a job to support my dream. Everywhere I went businesses turned me down," you have no relevant experience", “ you need to get certified before I can hire you”, on and on and on they kept turning me down.
Eventually I had to start using my savings and just decided it was better to try and head back home.
But when I got there no one wanted to see me, my parents had sold all my belongings, my bed, my dresser, my bookshelf’s, everything. They sent me away to the Yukon in middle of nowhere. I sulked and felt sorry for myself for months, Asking myself the same question...why? Why has this happened to me? Why can’t I support myself?. Finally I had had enough. I called my bank and requested they transfer the money that was in my locked account by my parents and put it into my other account. And it worked! I had over $1000 at my disposal, First thing I did was buy a one way ticket back to my hometown, as I was traveling home the only thing I could think was “I can do this”, “i can survive”.
I got back into the city and proceeded to couch surf with a couple friends while I looked for my own place, I scored the apartment sites and Craigslist ads for anywhere that was within my budget. Finally finding a place in a boarding house for 400$ I went in for an appointment and got accepted. Now I got to say...it was tiny, 340 square feet room with a bed and a dresser. Enough room for a small countertop fridge which I placed on a table. But hey I was finally on my own making my own decisions, I proceeded to stock my fridge with food and go out and try and find another job. Which actually went quite well at first, I found a job at a coffeehouse & chocolatier shop. Was making a bit of money about 300-400 every two weeks. Just enough to cover the rent, no food, no bills, just rent. But I kept with it, until one day they decided to let me go, no reason no notice, they just said hey u can go home now, I asked why it’s only been half a day, they said they didn’t need this many people working today, So I went home. What followed the next day would mark the beginning of the worst 2 years of my life...

To be continued

If u have made it this far I have to say thank you. I will be writing part two of this story over the next couple days and hopefully should have it up for you soon. If you enjoyed this price please leave a like and comment :) thank you

Sort:  

Hi @apexxnation2017, welcome to steemit! I hope you'll like it here. Just a heads up, if you post your introduction with #introduceyourself, you will get more visibility as more people read posts with that tag.

Thanks so much I appreciate any feedback! I’m still quite new

You're welcome. Yeah, I noticed that you were new ;) Maybe if you write up part 2 of your story, you can include this part as a link. Two birds with one stone :) Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37