Paying tribute to the "junk" food that we grew up with.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

TB17.jpg
Have you seen this before? This is a Standard Test Pattern by RTM back in those days. This visual will surely brings back memories of us watching our favorite TV series back then. Source

One thing that I have learnt about us Malaysians is that we usually come together (and stay united!) because of food. From Satay to Nasi Lemak to Rendang to Petai Prawn to Roti Canai to Char Kway Teow, you name it, chances are we have all eaten them before. We're so blessed with the diversity of culture in our country that we see food as "food" and not what race it represents.

I was at a mall recently when I stumbled upon an outlet selling some of the food that we grew up with and so I decided to write a posting as a tribute. Call it junk or whatever, I have fond memories of them (like winning jackpot in those days) and I hope some of these will trigger your memories too.

To be honest, after conducting research about each of these "memorable" food, I have discovered that most of them actually have high amount of sugars (that explains why we were so happy and hyper back then!), colourings and various kinds of preservatives (yikes!).

And I do feel that children during my era consumed the most junk food compared to children these days. Not in a million years would I feed my daughter the same. I am glad she is not into junk food although she cant say no to chocolates and cheese.

Back then it was readily available everywhere and cheap too. Our parents didn’t mind getting them for us to keep us happy. My late grandmother once own a sundry shop, so getting my regular fix is never a problem!

Let's revisit some of these food shall we?

Haw Flakes

TB1.jpg
Source

Haw flakes are flaky sweets made from the fruit of the Chinese hawthorn. The brownish candy is usually formed into discs and packaged in cylindrical stacks. The classic design is something that we will not forget easily.

Rabbit Creamy Candy

TB2.jpg
Source

White Rabbit Creamy Candy is a milk candy that’s both chewy and creamy. What I love about this candy is the edible soft paper that wraps the candy. I could put three of these in my mouth and chew it back in those days.

Lobster Peanut Candy

TB3.jpg
Source

Crunchy peanut that eventually melts in your mouth. Came with the same soft edible wrap.

Ice Gems

TB19.jpg
Source

I still eat this every now and then. I recalled my cheeky sister used to take only the icing and left the biscuits for me to eat.

Milky Bun biscuits

TB5.jpg
Source

Back in those days I could taste more eggs in this compared to now.

Van Houten Cocoa Powder Drink

TB6.jpg
Source

I just love the warm creamy chocolate drink, the taste of cocoa is rich back in those days compared to now.

Chicken Floss

TB7.jpg

I love eating this on its own, although my hubby prefer it on the bread.

Plum Candy

TB8.jpg
Source

I still love this! This would perk you up especially when you are in a long boring meetings or driving long distance.

Steamed Rice Cake

TB9.jpeg
Source

Soft and fluffy, sometimes comes in soft pink color too. My late grandmother used to buy this for us every time she comes back from the market.

Durian Popcorns

TB10.jpg
Source

Back in those days the durian smell and taste is more prominent compared to these days. Perfect snack for movie watching.

Sun Valley Cordial

TB11.jpg
Source

I love the Grenadine version. Who could forget the vines texture on the bottle? That’s epic.

Tang

TB12.jpg
Source

Taste so good like a real orange juice! But these days the orange taste is not the same, it is sweeter too.

Ice Cream Malaysia

TB18.jpg
Source

I have tried most versions from red bean to assam boi to cordials and milo!

JellyFish Satay

TB13.jpg
Source

Love the sticky sugar effect on the compressed fish meat.

Retro Buttercream cakes

TB14.jpg
Source

I always look forward for the bakery van that literally honks at the neighborhood I used to live with my grandparents. My aunts would take me and my sister to select the cakes that we want.

Ken Ken Cuttlefish snack

TB15.jpg
Source

My favorite in those days, love the strong fishy smell.

Apam Balik

TB16.jpg
Source

Eat it when it’s still hot! Fluffy and just melts in your mouth. I love the plain peanut version.

Sadly there are plenty nostalgic food that didn’t make it to this tribute. There are possibly more than a 100 of them back in those days.

Go ahead and take your pick! Let me know which one appeals to you the most.

P3.gif

WANT TO EARN EXTRA INCOME + CRYPTO FOR FREE? REGISTER HERE

angiechin28

Something About Angiechin28

Angie Chin is a Mom with a mission and founder of WonderWomen.Asia (coming soon), the first online portal in Malaysia that connects Women to affordable online learning, community activities, shareable contents, events, jobs and go-to market opportunities. At home, she’s a mommy to a 10 year old daughter, 6 furbabies + a grown babe. She loves travelling, cooking, exploring new food, reading and watching re-runs on Youtube.

Regularly posting up her ramblings and sharing contents (current favorites are Facebook & Instagram), she fell head over heels with Steemit after realising it’s the only platform that allows ANYONE to earn cryptocurrency by creating and posting up contents, even by liking, voting or commenting other people’s contents!

Whatever you do on the platform, you will earn. Isn’t that awesome?

To start earning, sign up for Steemit already! Post up your original contents and you can almost start seeing the ka-ching in your account before you know it. Best of all, it is FREE (Love the word FREE).

Life tagline (for now): Never be afraid to try anything once!

Follow @mywomen aka SteemitBabes (if you’d like to be part of a Women’s group so we can resteem good contents from you).

Drop her a note at [email protected]

Sort:  

Check! Check! Check! Still love some of these. Only the Durian Popcorns... don't think I've seen that... I feel cheated now!! Haha... Good one Angie 😊

The next time we meet I will bring you that Durian Popcorn babe :-) I would still eat some of these once in a while IF they are available. Perhaps in the next get together I shall bring them as titbits hahaha!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Yessss! Love the Haw Flakes, and the satay, and the cuttlefish, apam balik and that van houten chocolate! A chocolate drink Vishen Lakhani would approve of too! Lol

Lols! The Milo saga and dilemma continues.

Those are "tame". This is what I used to eat until it was banned in 1986. Cigarette candy. How cool is that? LOL

ne_04.1.jpg

Tame as in allowable! lols. Frankly most of them has no nutritional value whatsoever, but we still eat them happily!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54421.42
ETH 2277.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32