Gridcoin proposalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

I made a pitch to my friends today about Gridcoin and donations to hospitals.

It's not a business plan or something I'm going to go after Gridcoin to do, it was just an idea I was tossing around as I described what they Coin was to friends.

The friends in question are going about raising money for a new eye laser machine dohicky that zaps cataracts. It occurred to me that what they need to do is put their computers to work (they're nerds) and start working on Boinc projects; Combined they could make a lot of Gridcoin.

I suggested at first they could start trading the coins online for money but that hit me as selling off the Coin which would bring the price down.

So I suggested to them they could trade it to people who work in Gridcoin directly in the city where we live in exchange for donations.

The people get a tax write off, but also Gridcoin for their wallets.

It went over well and they're going to be looking into the links I emailed them.

I have no idea how this model would be set up or how they'd get the word out... but it's in their ear now.

image
Picture supplied in comments by Dutch

Sort:  

I think that's a neat idea!

At the same time, I wouldn't worry about people crunching and selling -- it adds to the market volume overall which helps attract attention, and unless they're mining loads a day it probably won't tank the price. It also adds to BOINC power which brings its own benefits.

@jringo is right. There have been 2 million GRC orders placed recently on both the buy and sell sides, and neither really impacted the price trend.

Very good idea. Hope this becomes a working project. Upvoted and resteemed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by andrewgenaille from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks

No. You are welcome

shared on ann & reddit :*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70