Ice Fishing In Zero Percent Visibility 🎣❄

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

This is my picture of people ice fishing in zero percent visibility. They are fishing on Lake Winnebago in Oshkosh WI in the middle of a snowstorm.

20190123_091604.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Andre

Oh those intrepid Midwesterners -many of Viking descent - for real. :)
There's a passage I love in a novel by an Aussie author (R.I.P. Barry!) - and here is an excerpt from my Perihelion Science Fiction book review:
In the "The Small Town Musings of Russel Cowes” (yes, sounds like he’d “rustle cows”), the school principal tells us Mensa wouldn’t trawl for members in the small-town Midwest, but the "permanently stunned look" that causes Midwesterners to appear stupid was “earned.” Settlers of the Great Plains "endured the worst weather nature can whip up," such as the blizzard of 1888, 40-below-zero winters, hot, arid summers, prairie fires, grasshopper plagues, dust storms, floods and tornadoes. "Wouldn't all that be enough to make your face look like you were expecting the next disaster to come along any minute?” As a Midwesterner myself, I could only nod and smile. As an American, I can tolerate this Australian novelist’s sneering portrayal of us, because there is truth in jest.*

Hahaha. I understand what you mean. I saw a guy shoveling in shorts yesterday. It was only 15° out with the wind chill being below zero.

Gaaaaaaahh! Part Viking, I swear!!!

Amazing place, @andre-verbrick

Thank you. I really like the snowy Wisconsin winters.

Kwah!! In this kind of weather people were still fishing, it look so cold much!!

Yeah they definitely bundle up warm and bring their hat, gloves, and ice shanty.

Looks just like Michigan lol!!

20190119_115129.jpg

Wow, nice picture for sure. Great capture of the snow.

@andre-verbrick, The weather is really heavy without any doubt, and in my opinion it's an tough job of fishing in this weather. And every weather holds it's own stories. Stay blessed. 🙂

All I can say is I hope they bring GPS and stay safe.

Yes at the end of the day, safety is priority. Have a blessed time ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66620.20
ETH 3494.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72