5 FOR 5: HIS WORDS CARRY JUST AS FAR AS HIS VIDEOS, THIS IS SNEAK THE POET

in #blog4 years ago

sneakthepoet_37882220_1818815331537860_19040032404799488_n.jpg

"Pull up in like 20,
She said what took u so long?
Told her I’ve been chasing this money,
But what’s all this bread if I can’t get me no honey?”
- Sneak The Poet "Saturday Night"

Words. Words are so powerful that they have started wars. Men have risked everything and have even died over their word, their word being their honor. In the streets they say "Your word is your bond". Because for many their word is the most valuable thing they posse. And no one knows the power of words better than a poet. Sneak The Poet has shown his mastery of diction while also gaining respect from his peers in the process. Let's get to know Sneak The Poet!

  1. What got you into music? I’ve always been a music lover and a fan of hip hop. But I didn’t get into music until my 3rd year at TU. I was riding down 75 and heard Biggie’s “Suicidal Thoughts” for the 1st time and that was it. I wrote my first rap during class the same day. I was already experimenting with poetry at the time.

  2. You are an artists as well as a vidographer. How do you decide which to put your energy into? I’m an artist period. I started off as an actor. I’m actually a professionally trained actor, I received my degree in Theater and Minor in Film Studies. In a sense I started doing all of it at the same time once I decided I didn’t want to act anymore. I wanted to play more of a director/writer/producer role. Music kind of just came naturally. It’s a tough balance because hip hop influences my films. But I’m definitely consider myself a filmmaker. I’m working on a few big projects at the moment. But hip hop is me, forever, so that won’t ever change.

  3. Last year you dropped a project called "Strictly 4 My Ninjas". What message were you trying to get across with this project? “Strictly 4 My Ninjas” is my 1st project since I moved back from Seattle. So it’s sort of a re-introduction to Sneak. Sonically it’s a blend of lo-fi and jazz rap. I like to think of it as the rise of the “cool blerd”. Real Ninja shit, you know. A lot of stuff I rap about, wasn’t cool to talk about 10 years ago.

  4. What's one line off the project that you think goes over people's head? Idk about going over heads but one of my favorite bars is from Saturday Night “Pull up in like 20, she said what took u so long? Told her I’ve been chasing this money, but what’s all this bread if I can’t get me no honey?” I just like that bar. It’s real simple. But I feel simplicity hits harder sometimes than a lot of spiritual-miracle rap. It’s like what’s all this grinding for if I don’t reap the benefits of my hard work?

  5. What's next for Sneak The Poet in 2020? Man I have big plans this year, a lot I can’t talk about just yet. But I am working on a few big scripts that I’m sourcing funding for. I’m also shooting videos for some of Tulsa’s dopest talent. New music SOON. Like really soon. I really feel like this year is going to be special. The energy is right.

  6. You posted a video of you doing a chyper with DJ Somar. How did that come about? It was a promotional video for a Lessons in Fresh show at Fassler Hall. My first rap show ever was a Lesson and Fresh show at Soundpony like 6 or 7 years ago and Somar was the DJ.

https://twitter.com/sneakthepoet/status/1225095760246648838

Thanks to Sneak The Poet for taking time out of his busy day. Make sure to follow him on his social media below:

Instagram: @sneakthepoet
Twitter: @sneakthepoet
Youtube: Sneak The Poet

Thanks for reading! Don't forget to like, share, and comment.
For more great content go to www.tulsalines.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82