Folk Art Coloring Contest #3 Entry

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9349.jpg

Not going to lie, I love these coloring contests put on by @deemarshall (after reading here, go over to her post and give it an upvote to raise the pot, and upvote your favorite entry, would love for mine to be it, but there are some other great pieces as well).While I am no artist, it helps to pass the really cold nights by. Our farmhouse is 109 years old, and when it catches a chill, it gets to your bones. So being able to sit by the fire and paint was just what I needed tonight. I envisioned the basket was brought to a picnic and was knocked over by accident while the young couple was running around with a kite, giggling, smiling, living in a moment.




IMG_9342.jpg

On the farm today, we were being watched... by the neighbors cows! Such silly, sweet animals. Just checking it out. When I would approach them, they would run off and watch from a distance until I went back to gardening, at which time they would come back to the fence once more. Our sweet Laney dog didn't think it was such fun, and barked constantly at the peeping toms.



Today, our cat sat and meowed at me. He wanted to be fed. However, he'd just eaten. Also, the night before I think I heard. mouse in the cupboard. Not unusual for an old farmhouse in the country during cold weather, but not something I want to hear either. So I told Jade, "No, tonight, you can catch your own food." Not really meaning it, but then he must have taken what I said as stern, and he caught a squirrel. A squirrel! Then he climbed a 30 foot tree and I am pretty sure he was feeling like the king of the jungle. How can I be mad? While I love animals of all kinds, I also believe that the food they would find in nature is far better and healthier than the food I pay $8 for at the feed store in town. Also, that squirrel ate a huge hole in my rocking chair cushion. Win-Win in my book!


And finally, we ended a very long day with a huge plate of cheese fries. I peeled, sliced, blanched, and fried these taters. Topped then with salt and cheese. Baked them at 375 F for about 8 minutes, and drizzled ranch, crispy bacon, and pickled jalapeños on top. That was dinner. So amazing! Worth the hour it took to prepare.

And while I am here, I guess I would like to say thank you! I love how welcomed I have been into the Steem community. I have received support from complete strangers. People just trying to touch the heart of another person, and create a bond in this small, complex world we live in. A day is worth so much more, when you feel loved and wanted. And truly, I am grateful for the love you give.

Sort:  

Hello @andiekins! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

What an interesting post and lovely contest entry.

Your basket is brought to life by your cool painting.

Thank you for telling us about your day :)

I am forever trying to squeeze everything in one. :) Thank you for your fun contests!

Hi there! I saw @xcountrytravelers tagged you in the #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest post, so I just wanted to pop by and say hello! Joining in on some of the contests when you get a chance really is such a great way to meet others on the platform, so I hope you get a chance to join in some time soon. We do the contest every Monday, so you are welcome to jump in whenever you might have the opportunity. Otherwise, I know I'll be popping back by to see when those strawberries are ready... ;)

I'll for sure be joining in! While I am not vegan, we often eat plant based meals as meat and dairy products are expensive. So I'll share some recipes too as I can ;)

Awesome! I look forward to seeing what you share with us! :)

Beautiful combination post @andiekins, contest and update are rolled up into one!!!
Um, how did a squirrel chew a hole in your seat cushion; was the chair on the porch or in the house? Do I have to tune in next chapter to find out in this great mystery??? Hehehe

Ha! Its on the front porch. The squirrel would sit there and pick at it and taunt us. Then if he heard the slightest door creak he'd bolt because he knew we were coming.

IMG_9350.jpg

So hopefully Jade did his civic duty and took out the little troublemaker and had a great dinner doing it!!! Hahaha

I love that you are here. You have found your style and then you find more! I just love that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82