my all time favourite!

in #blog7 years ago

I mentioned in my introduction that i love reading didn’t I? Well, reading is my passion! I started reading novels when i was in school which most of them thought was a waste of time. Even my mother thought so cuz i never read my subjects as much. So i was forced to hide my books and read them with torch light after all went to bed which m sure most of them have done. I was the only girl who spent her after class hours at the library. I helped my teacher with setting up book shelves and sometimes inventory too which made my teacher very happy and making her happy meant i would get the best books. No one had the permission to take home books except for me which made me very happy but the others..not so much.

Must have been 10th grade when i read the best fiction novel ever which was ‘Gone With The Wind’ by Margaret Mitchell. It was the top American bestseller in 1936 and 1937. There were many before and after but ‘Gone With The Wind’ has always been my favourite and always will. For people who have not heard about it..its time to Google! I saw the book on the shelf and just knew i had to read it. It was like love at first site! It was summer break when i finally managed to get my hands on it. My teacher was reluctant at first but she knew if someone could read it, it was me. So you could say it was my best summer break! I remember reading it when all the other kids were busy playing and goofing around. All thought i had lost my mind when they saw the book..it had 2 volumes! But anyway i read it and returned it in one piece. The characters and settings are still so fresh in my mind like it was just yesterday. The story is set in Georgia, during the American Civil War and Reconstruction Era. It is about young Scarlett O’Hara, the daughter of a southern plantation owner who would do anything to claw her way out of poverty, even marry her sister’s beau. Rhett Butler, the hero of the story, is the ‘tall, dark and handsome’ character which is every girl’s dream. Everyone is terrified of him but not Scarlett of course. It’s a story of war, love and loss.

[Gone With The Wind.jpg]

()

Now this is a must read! For people who are not readers there is a movie based on the novel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35