A 20 Minute Blog A Day - to keep the demons at bay

in #blog6 years ago

As a chronic over thinker, I find myself rethinking, rewording and then picking apart my writing once again.

Over thinking affects all areas of my life and when I'm writing I could spend an easy half hour rereading and changing around two or three sentences. Needless to say, this is a serious issue.

I also have an incessant habit of investigating out of the box concepts, ideas, videos, interviews...anything readily available on the web or in the library that generally questions life, its meaning, societal constructs, belief patters, history, conspiracies, sci-fi and everything in between. That can lead me to see the world differently than many people and leaves me with a lot to think about, alone!

In an attempt to break out of my over thinking and self depreciating habit I've decided to attack the issue head on with a writing challenge.

Starting today, with this blog, I will give myself a 20 minute max to write out whatever I chose for the day. I'm choosing to stand by my first draft! I'm not trying to totally disregard editing or the importance of the "Final Draft", I just want to break out of my compulsive second guessing.

I have seen so many posts and quotes from writers about the importance of creating a habit of writing daily, no matter what you decide to write about. Currently, I've hit a dull spot in the novel I've been working on... so naturally I'm distracting myself by starting a completely new project!

But with so many things to do daily - I, personally, work best with a schedule and commitments that keep my brain focused. Otherwise, I end up floating through my day from project to project never actually finishing anything.

I also am secretly hoping this might light a fire under my lazy butt and get me to start posting more consistently on here. I still want to take time to write great research articles with big topics, sources, stats and all that but a short personal blog a day may keep the motivation going in between my longer posts.

I made it through my first 20 min post! I'll be back at it tomorrow.

Sharing is caring.png
steemit banner.png

Sort:  

I believe with determination and consistency, you might actually pull off task of eliminating second guessing when you write. I too have a tad bit of second guessing and most times its due to the fact that i tend to think oh no i should say this or that or this is important but i don't know how to express myself and its a challenge im looking to overcome to write posts without hesitation yet have an impact in this community . Anyways this is an amazing write up. Thanks for writing

Thank you @bateren :) hopefully after a few of these 20 minute write ups I'll become more comfortable and confident with writing. So many times I talk myself out of writing something short because I want to keep adding to it or researching more sources and I put off finishing it, so I'm hoping these exercises help with that too lol

nice post super upvoted

I too find myself rereading and moving sentences around for beat impact or to make it as readable and easy to understand as possible. Glad to hear that I'm not alone 😂.

Great 20 post. Just wish I could do that with my mining rig ones, they have so much detail. They take ages to write up.

Keep it 👆.

thanks @moonunit ! I'm sure I'll never get all my blogs to under 20 mins - personal quick ones definitely, but certain topics do take a lot of time and effort - those mining posts are amazing and anyone can tell you put a ton of time into them.
I've written stuff with a lot of research involved where I spend days checking sources out.. those ones, I think, will always be slaved over - they should be! there's a certain amount of respect that goes into big topics but it's nice to write some fluff here and there :) so happy you could relate to the struggle!

Lol totally, The fluff posts are a joy compared to the heavily researched ones for sure. You write some great ones too, I am really looking forward to your next rap one, The last one was great!!

Have a great day 😊

thanks for reminding me! LOL perhaps I'll do another playlist tomorrow :) have a great night

Great post. How did the wisdom tooth removal go? Hope it wasn't to uncomfortable and you managed to get some decent rest post dentist. As always, a great post @amariespeaks. Steem on. :)

thanks @mudcat36! I went pretty good - today's the first day I feel kinda like myself again :) the swellings gone down now if the bruising would fade I'd look a little less scary LOL the meds really helped ;-)

I do this all the time! In fact, I started two posts this morning and completely deleted both lol. I don't know what it is, but sometimes when you re-read what you've written, it's just like...wow why did I write that? Great post as always :)

LOL yes, @joanneparr I totally know what you mean! Hopefully the "why did I write that" doesn't now become "why did I post that!?" haha but hey, you only live once and it's all in the name of inner evolution so it's worth it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46