Self-Care

in #blog7 years ago

We all know it's important, but it's not always easy. It used to be so difficult for me to relax. I would always have to be doing something to keep myself distracted.

We like to tell ourselves stories like "there's something more important to do first" or "I'm able to relax while being online" or "I thrive on multitasking".

Often, as a form of escape, it's tempting to engage in something unhealthy, instead of an actually healthy self-caring activity. A lot of that comes from the fear of feeling negative emotions.

True self-love and care comes from presence and stillness. We are able to make the best decisions from the place of peace. When we take time to notice our breathing, observe the surroundings or pet the cat.

Cats are actually great teachers of self-care. They are in a relaxed meditative state most of the day. :)

IMG_6640.JPG

It takes practice, but it's so worth it to spend some time each day being present and focused on our wellbeing.

Sort:  

Relaxing is hard for me. I'm always thinking of some other thing I could do for my business lol I often have to remind myself that it's ok to relax sometimes

Yes.. It's very important. Sometimes I realize how tense I was, only when I finally allow myself to relax.

Stilling the mind is re-energising for me too. And I do find it challenging at times to do just that throughout a busy day. Meditation and yoga work for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58679.85
ETH 2304.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45