You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Follow-Up] How to Easily Convert Your CPU and GPU into STEEM POWER: for the non-technical user

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

In the week-old article you write:

I have one laptop that averages somewhere around a penny a day, and has peaked as high as $.07 per day. I have a desktop that averages $.15 per day and has peaked over a dollar a day. My other computers fall in between there. Your own payouts will depend on the performance of your computer.

This type of money is probably outweighed by the costs paid in electricity (!).

Sort:  

True, but I was already burning 100% of CPU and GPU on WorldCommunityGrid for no return at all, so it's not costing me anything to switch. I also recently learned about gridcoin, so I'm playing around with getting paid to do science, too.

Nicehash has a profitability calculator on their web site, and if you want to, you can configure settings to mine only when profitable (after factoring in electricity). Of course, that would be based on whatever altcoin nicehash is mining, not on steem's price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30