The Little Things in Life #1

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Today was pretty much a lazy day. I was at home bundled up in my blanket and getting accustomed to the chilly weather in Malaysia. This gave me some time to think and reflect about myself. So, for this post, I will be listing out some of the things that I am grateful for based on yesterday’s experience.

GRATEFUL LIST:

1. Sweater Weather

Malaysia is known to be hot and humid all year round. We have extreme weather conditions where it’s either burning hot (or as Malaysians would call it SIBEH PANAS*) or raining cats and dogs (btw it’s still hot here even when it rains). However, for the past few days, the temperatures have been dropping up to 24 degree Celsius in the Klang Valley. On top of that, there isn’t much heavy rain where I stay, only occasional light showers.

This brings us to the first thing I’m grateful for; chilly and gloomy weather which is absolutely ideal for sleeping and making full use of my sweaters. I personally feel that looking up at grey gloomy skies and being swept by the cold breeze is a refreshing change. What's better than throwing on a comfy sweater and snuggling in bed reading your favorite book with a cup of hot Milo? So Malaysians, be grateful and enjoy this weather while it lasts (forecast says it’ll to be HOT AGAIN in a few days :P).

*Sibeh = Very (Hokkien dialect; one of the Chinese dialects)
Panas = Hot (Bahasa Malaysia)


Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash


2. Publishing my 1st blog post

As mentioned in my introductory post (Go check it out if you haven’t! 😊), I’m a newbie when it comes to blogging. It took me several hours to draft out my post in Microsoft Word and another several more to transfer it to Steemit and figure out the mechanics to complete it. All in all, I spent SEVEN hours straight just to publish my first post! I’M NOT KIDDING DUDE, SEVEN! By the time I got the post out, I was so done with blogging, hungry and exhausted from having to stay up till 3am. (Yes, I get hungry if my tummy isn’t fed every few hours ><)

But amidst the hardship, I’m grateful that I went through with it till the end and successfully published a post after hours of trying. It’s true when they say the first step is the hardest. I’m thankful that I pushed myself to step out of my comfort zone and try something new. Above all, I’m glad I did not give up. This will not be the end as I shall continue learning and explore blogging. (Though my biggest problem is coding.. Anyone willing to give free lessons? 😉)


Photo by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash


3. Partner in crime

Last but most importantly, I would not have made it through yesterday if it wasn’t for @aaronmcheong. I’m certain that without his help, I would have spent waaaay longer than seven hours on the post. He supported me every step of the way and guided me from the very beginning till the end. He was extremely patient and did not abandon me even though I called and disturbed him SEVERAL times while he was GAMING. (This is a big deal okay, especially since he was playing Dota2 with his friend!)

For that, I am so so sooo grateful to have him as my partner in crime for life! Thank you @aaronmcheong! 😍


Photo taken during my professional MC gig last October.

~ Alexandra, 14/01/18 ~

Sort:  

awww I agree with you alexe little things !

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

I'm grateful to have you by my side too @alexe ;)

Congratulations @alexe! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alexe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47