You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A replicant, or a symptom of society?

in #blog6 years ago

I feel I relate to a lot, except the stoic parts, floating through life, and all that. But I'll concentrate on the crying part.

I very often cry at movies. Or good music. Or even (more rarely) good books. Sometimes it's sadness and empathy as you've said, other times it's just so damn artful and perfect. I never cried in a Marvel movie tho! In those cases I may feel exhilarated and just wanna do the black thing where they run around and shout in excitement! :P

Actually, wait ... there's sentimental parts in Marvel movies, like Magneto's getting separated from his parents at the concentration camp, or in the newer movies when his wife and daughter get killed. It's quite possible I cried in those and similar instances. I forget. I cry often.

And I feel the need to hide it from other people. My ex girlfriend used to watch me and laugh. I got angry as a result. They don't understand. I kinda pity them cos if they can't feel those strong emotions it means they can't enjoy the movie/music as much as I do.

Sort:  

The pity part... right?? I get frustrated when people fall asleep in excellent movies - like bladerunner - because it's 'long' or 'doesnt do anything for half the movie' - which translates as 'developing the story' to me.

It's even worse in China where they collectively have a habit of just drag-skipping minutes of shows and movies whenever stopping only at their favourite characters or action-packed moments. They mostly refuse to watch anything before 2005 because the physical quality of the movie is too low to be considered good. Outrageous!

But yeah don't get me wrong I don't cry in Marvel for its deep and emotional story telling, which I'm sure exists somewhere...magneto indeed. I just, for example, enjoy the scenery of Asgard being destroyed by a giant devil beast or something, triggers a few drops alongside a 'woah' or whatever. These movies are hardly for deep philosophical afterthoughts!

I remember my first crying was Titanic when I was 11 - not old enough to see but my mum slipped me in. Was super embarassed I couldn't clear them up before the end of the movie lol. Thanks for somehow being aware of this account!

It's even worse in China where they collectively have a habit of just drag-skipping minutes of shows and movies whenever stopping only at their favourite characters or action-packed moments.

If ever there was a sign of the endtimes, this is it...

I don't remember crying in the Titanic. I really liked the movie, but I found DiCaprio obnoxiously young compared to Winslet, they just didn't strike me as a natural couple, though acting-wise he was perfect.

Ryan Gosling (not him, but his movies) often cause the flood gates to open. La La Land (cried 4 times, I think), The Notebook, obviously, Blue Valentine, possibly.

Have you watched The Shape of Water yet? It has some tear-jerker moments.

Thanks for somehow being aware of this account!

😄 I don't remember how or why I followed it! I saw it in my feed and was surprised!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51