Frozen Wonders - My visit to the World Ice Art Championships

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

As I press on to survive the heart of winter here in Alaska, I stumbled upon some old photos on a spare hard drive. I thought it would be fun to share a little about my experience visiting the 2007 World Ice Art Championships.

Many of the pictures aren't of a quality I'd like to share, as I didn't have a decent camera on the trip. But I managed to cut a couple diamonds from the rough with my wife's old point-and-shoot that are worth sharing.

The World Ice Art Championship is the largest ice carving competition in the world, drawing craftsmen from across the globe to Fairbanks, Alaska. Numerous works are on display across the competition grounds, from start to finish.

Unfortunately, I discovered the competition has been cancelled this year. It seems the offices of the organization that runs the competition were destroyed by fire in 2016. The recovery has been difficult for them, and they lost a few big sponsors, but they hope to return in 2019.


It was March 2007 when we visited. Fairbanks is located in interior Alaska and about a seven hour drive from Anchorage. If the weather's nice the drive offers some amazing scenery, including Denali, the highest peak in North America at 20,310 feet (that's 6,190m for those of you in countries using the superior system of measure).

It was painfully cold, and the Championship judging deadline was near. Some artists were working on the final steps to complete their pieces; it was mostly the larger ones that weren't yet at one-hundred percent.


I wish I had enough quality photos to properly share this experience. There were massive sculptures constructed from multiple blocks of ice with intricate detail. Thankfully, I found an image of one sculpture from that year on wikimedia commons.

The thin pieces of ice between the posts forming the guardrails were crystal clear and perfectly straight.


I didn't take this photo, but thankfully someone else attending the 2007 Competition posted this on Wikicommons. Source.

One of the largest in terms of ground area covered was the frozen Stonehenge. This one didn't have the intricate detail of other sculptures, but was impressive none-the-less.

Some of the best images I managed to get were after the sun had set and colored lights accented some of the sculptures. I love how the round spheres captured the colored lights on this sculpture.

This magnificent sculpture seems to combine a pair of Aesop's Fables: "The Shepherd and the Lion" and "The Lion and the Mouse". It's amazing how fine the details are on the small mice, the branch they stand upon, and the lion's paw.

Around the lion were many more animal themed pieces. I found the mantis particularly impressive, and the green light added the perfect accent. By the way, to give you a slight reference for scale, all these pictures were taken at eye level. Each of these were taller than 6 feet, except the Dall sheep.


One more photo I didn't take. This is the main hot spring at Chena and the only one open to guests. Source.

After spending a couple hours admiring the Ice sculptures, we went to Chena Hot Springs. My wife and I had visited previously on a couple occasions, however, this was the first time we rented a room and enjoyed an evening soak in the naturally heated spring.

Fairbanks is known for extreme summer-highs and winter-lows in temperature for the state of Alaska. So to be expected, it was twenty degrees below zero Farenheit while we were there (that's negative thirty Celsius for those of you in countries that haven't walked on the moon). That made the walk around the sculpture competition pretty brutal, so during our soak that night we kept as much of our bodies under the water as possible.

The different in temperature between the water and the air caused a thick steam to rise from the surface of the spring. That, combined with the dark night, meant we could only see about 6 feet away.

As we waded through the calm pool enjoying the warmth, laughing at the mens' beards collecting frost, we couldn't help but notice something. There seemed to be a large number of Japanese men basking in the spring, hiding in various corners or slowly wading through the water like lurking creatures. Really, it was odd. We'd travel to one edge of the spring and a figure would emerge through the thick steam. Turning around, we'd just happen upon another tucked into a corner of the rocks.

When we were finally ready to retire, we ran from the pool to the bath house, laughing as our feet stuck to the frozen ground with each step. Inside, one of the employees shed some light on the plethora of Japanese men in the spring. Apparently, there's an old myth that the Japanese seek to conceive under the aurora borealis, believing it increases fertility and may impart greater wisdom to their children. As it turns out, March is peak aurora season. More than likely this is indeed just a myth; the Japanese seek to simply view the aurora once in their lifetime, holding it as one of nature's greatest splendors.

In the short outdoor walk from the bath house to our rooms, the wet swim shorts we carried froze solid. This provided more laughs, as we set the stiff shorts on the ground, letting them stand as if filled by an invisible person. Away from the steam rising off the hot spring we could see the green ribbons of aurora waving across the sky. I've seen the aurora many times, and this wasn't the most spectacular display, but it was the perfect bookend to a pretty amazing experience.


This is similar to the aurora we saw that night. Source.

Sort:  

How remarkable and heartbreaking humans can be and what a metaphor for our existence: sculpting with ice, like building sandcastles, Living Mandalas... Thanks, for sharing this Beauty 🙏🏼

Thanks for the comment! Remarkable and heartbreaking metaphor indeed. We make our lives as beautiful as we can in the short span we are blessed to have. I never looked at ice sculptures that way before.

As a teenager, I wanted to go to Alaska and skin fish (I'm from Egypt, and that sounded like the wildest thing to do). Thank you, for granting me -in middle age- this virtual visit _/|_

Haha my pleasure. You certainly get an experience of seeing some Alaska wilderness working at a fish plant, since they're mostly in more remote locations.

Beautiful photos!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Thank you Gmuxx. I gladly accept your OCD nomination. What a pleasant surprise to wake to this morning.

As far north as I now live, we just never seem to get good northern lights for some reason. Not that I manage to see anyway. The fact that I go to bed with the hens, as my husband says, probably doesn't help. But you did some very amazing photography, especially considering a less than ideal camera. The mouse pulling the thorn from the lion's paw is my favorite.

Thank you Bex. Yes, going to bed with the hens doesn't help for seeing the aurora. I've always seen the best shows in the early am hours, about 2-4 o'clock. That was one benefit when I used to be on night shift; I got to see the northern lights a lot.

This is a beautiful set of photos, and the backstory of your trip makes it a fun read. I've never actually been to an ice sculpture...show? contest? It's always a wonder that so much time and effort would be spent on something so beautiful and yet so transient.

"It's always a wonder that so much time and effort would be spent on something so beautiful and yet so transient."

How perfectly said my friend. Thank you for the compliments. I also found my photos from a trip to Washington DC years ago, where I did have a quality camera. Perhaps I'll make a post to share some of those. Making this post also inspired me to attend some events of the Fur Rondy this year, something I haven't done in a long time. After living here for a while, that annual winter festival just seems like a tourist attraction. Really though, it's one of those unique things that locals find it easy to take for granted.

Your photos are stunning! I love ice sculptures. We have several winter festivities here in Minnesota, with ice sculptures and ice castles. It’s amazing to me that people can make such elaborate carvings in ice!

I have never seen the aurora borealis. I’m so envious!

Thanks for the comment Jayna. These photos are ok; makes me really wish I had a good dslr at the time. There are smaller ice sculpture displays and competitions here in Anchorage for an annual event called Fur Rondy. Perhaps I'll have to go this year and take some photos. I could get some really good Alaskana content that would make for some interesting posts. Like the sled dog weight pull competition, for example.

The sculptures I saw at this competition in Fairbanks were at a level I had never seen before though. Incredible, and I've yet to see any that rival the skill and detail on display there. I hope the company (Ice Alaska) is able to get back on their feet for 2019.

It really looks incredible. You did well with the equipment you have. I also wish I had an excellent camera. The macro photography I've been seeing lately, in particular, makes me want to make the investment! I'll try to get some good pictures of the ice castles and post them soon.

I'll look forward to those pictures Jayna. I do have nice camera equipment and am quite the photog, I just didnt have it on this trip back in 2007. Left it at home like a dummy.

Oops! 😝

Wau amazing ice sculptures!
Btw I was also nominated by @ocd in the same daily issue and with ice sculptures as well:) My post is about an ice temple in Slovakia.
I have to admit though that people from Alaska are leaders in ice sculpting:)

I saw your post featured on the same day. Congrats, and nice ice photos. There are good sculpters here in Alaska, but many of the artists at the competiton are from around the world. They're just as talented, since I don't always see such impressive work at smaller, local shows. I'll be attending one soon and will be making a post about it.

At Chena Hot Springs, the place we stayed, they actually have an ice hotel. I didn't get any photos, but the entire structure is built of ice. If you pay the big bucks to rent a room in it, the bed is a sculpted slab of ice adorned with animal furs. The bar is ice and they serve drinks in ice glasses. It was pretty neat, and if I ever went back it would certainly be a post of its own.

Looking forward to your next post about this.

Never been to an ice hotel (I'd probably suffer too much since I prefer when it's warm). However, I have been to an ice bar before - there's one in Barcelona. The concept is the same, made of ice and ice glasses. If I find the old pics, might write a post about it, too. It was great fun:)

I got chills looking at it (No pun intended)

Haha. This is probably the longest period of time I'd ever spent outside in such cold weather. It's a whole different feeling when the temperature is that low; it's like you can feel the moisture from your skin sucked right out and the inside of your nose turning to ice. Good thing we were dressed to enjoy the sculptures: all the winter gear you could think of, save ski goggles.

To: @ammonite
I know you do some ice work. I'm curious if you've ever been to this event or heard of it?

Hi Aksounder. Yes I know of this event but have never been although I know several of my friends have. I heard the ice is amazing and harvested locally from the freshest of water. It is supposed to be very cold alright and this can make the ice very hard and brittle. So i am very impressed with the lion and mice.
Photos of ice sculpture are always very difficult but you got so great ones.
Looks like you had an amazing time and it's great to see ice sculpture from other people's perspective.
Thanks for the mention.

I figured you would have at least heard of it. It was the most impressive ice work I had ever seen. The delacate detail was mind boggling. After attending that competition, anything I've seen at smaller shows in Anchorage have been a little bit of a let down. Hopefully that's not the case with this year's Fur Rondy festival. I'll be sure to photograph those sculptors and make a steemit post about them.

Thank you for the kind compliments on the photos. Glad an actual ice sculpter thinks I captured these pieces well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79