Curious About Black Friday Discounts

in #blog6 years ago

As I write this, it's still Black Friday, November 23rd, 2018.

Here in Brazil, the Black Friday discounts aren't that great. Many people even poke fun at the event and call it "Black Fraud" because there are stores that double the products' prices a few weeks before Black Friday, and when the day arrives, they halve the price to say the product is "50% OFF," and many unaware customers end up buying products for "half of the double," or in other words, the original price. I've heard this doesn't happen as much nowadays and was more common a few years ago when the event was just taking off here in Brazil, but these surely left a bad taste in many people's mouths, and many still scrunch their noses at the Black Friday event. In any case, we should stay alert!

A '50% off' sign

Image source: Pixabay

I usually don't care much about Black Friday, mainly because I don't shop much, and because the Black Friday discounts here in Brazil aren't very appealing. But this year, I decided to try to find some good deals on an air fryer and an electric pressure cooker, as mentioned in this post where I wrote I had found out about these appliances that seem like they would make things easier for me in the kitchen.

I had been monitoring prices for around a month, and checked price comparison websites to make sure I wouldn't be paying "half of the double." I managed to find a discounted price (around 15% less than the usual values), with free shipping, plus a 10% discount coupon, plus 3.5% cashback (not much on its own, but it helps). In the end, I spent less than the minimum I had thought I would, and believe it was worth it. Now, to wait until the products arrive...

I'm curious to know about the Black Friday discounts from other countries. So, here's a question to the readers. Does your country have Black Friday sales? If so, how are the discounts?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aiyumi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56