What Is A Pagoda?

in #blog7 years ago

I have always thought that pagodas have a very distinct quality about them. One cannot simply walk past them without being mesmerised by their excellence and beauty. I have been studying more about Japanese pagodas recently and the various philosophies related with them, some of which I would like to share with you guys as well.


So, What Is A Pagoda After all?

A pagoda is tower-like structure with multiple levels and roofs which are of religious importance. These structures are prevalent throughout the eastern countries, for example : China, Japan, India, Sri Lanka, etc.

9ee72a74fa9b2e4edb72ba91efe8f04e.png

Image Source


Origin

These structures have predecessors known as the stupas which were hemispherical in form (As shown in the image below) & thought to preserve relics and remains. The stupas are said to be originated in India. Gradually, the form changed and the concept of a tiered structure came into existence as it started to spread.


133d1ab8364fcee84910d55dbc1af9cc.jpg

Image Source


buddarch2.gif

Image Source

Symbolism

One can find many pagodas with 5 levels in Japan and these are said to represent the 5 elements of nature, i.e earth, water, fire, wind & space. Can you recall seeing the following structure anywhere? This is identified as a Gorintō which is made out of stones with the same symbolic importance.


picture1.jpg

Image Source

Architecture

These structures can be made up of stone, wood or brick but they are mostly made of wood in Japan which is why they are able to withstand earthquakes. The presence of a central pillar prevents the whole structure from falling apart in the emergence of an earthquake. It is remarkable how the people in those times must have developed such advanced level of techniques! Don't you think?


horyuji-pagoda-nara-japan-heart-pillar.JPG

Image Source


Some of the most incredible pagoda structures around the world

Porcelain Tower of Nanjing, China

160914164838-01-nanjing-porcelain-tower-super-169.jpg

Image Source

Kyaiktiyo Pagoda, Myanmar

acd305453d4cb7c008a13a46d2b226a0.jpg

Image Source

Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar

a81be6eee90abe2b51bf517f93cdccb0.jpg

Image Source

Trấn Quốc Pagoda, Vietnam

Tran-Quoc-pagoda-at-night.jpg

Image Source

Wat Saket, Thailand

10858022194_6989cf299f_b.jpg

Image Source

Tianning Temple Pagoda, China

35837ac32f09104f0b5b3c8653c02a9e.jpg

Image Source

I hope this post was helpful in gaining understanding about pagodas. I am sure I missed out somethings but this has been one of the most interesting topics to read about for me and I am glad I could share. Stay tuned for more! :)

Till then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

Sort:  

Very informative....
Thanx for sharing....👌

Very interesting post! The one Kyaiktiyo Pagoda in Myanmar looks amazing!

I know right! That is definitely something that I want to visit!

oho gajab hai aapki post and aap b hehehe :P

Wow! Great post, especially the kyaiktyo of Myanmar looks so wonderful. You have done a great job, thanks.

Yes, it does! Thanks a lot.

It's my pleasure my friend, definitely you have done a very beautiful post. Thanks, wish you good luck.

It's my pleasure my friend, definitely you have done a very beautiful post. Thanks, wish you good luck.

I am very very interested with these structures.. I visited most of them in the world. I really like your post and I fall in love to the pictures..

Wow, I haven't seen them though! Thanks :)

I live in a country where pagoda architecture is aboundendly found and since my childhood i've been in love with the style, The very fine detailing is soo amazing along with the rearer view.Nice, Keep up the work!

Well said @ishab. Thanks a ton!

Very informative and detailed. Interesting to understand the legacy behind it. Followed you now to discover more such interesting post. Keep posting.

Glad you enjoyed them, thanks for the follow!

very nice article and pictures u mention are so attractive:)

Glad you liked them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40