My Fascination With Traditional Japanese Homes! <3

in #blog7 years ago

Okay, so I have never lived in a Japanese-style home or even been to Japan for that matter but there is definitely something about their architecture and design that has always made me wonder what it would be like to live in one!

Maybe it is because I am spent a major part of my life in Nepal and there are some notable similarities between the two. Buildings made of wood along with use of other natural materials have always attracted me. So, today I am going to share somethings about traditional Japanese homes.

dc35d3d96d4b37e79e08e48801daf90b.jpg

Image source

1. Shōji

Remember those beautiful doors & windows with thin paper-like coverings? They are called Shōji. The paper is thin enough to let in a little bit of light.

tumblr_ktcmn8iHOL1qzty50o1_500.jpg

Image Source

2. Tatami

One of the most important things to remember when entering a house with tatami flooring on them is to remove your shoes. It might damage the quality as it made of grass and rice straws. I would definitely love to have one of these!

7c35a67de12c1c3dc902c04971f62644.jpg

Image Source

3. Sliding Doors (Fusuma)

These are the doors that can slide from side to side which saves the space for opening and closing doors. Also, the main entry also comprises of the same kind of gates. It is designed in such a way that it blends the outside world with the indoors..

ecbcd1ebc0c38b51e974ddcb402eed90.jpg

Image Source

4. Engawa

Floors in a traditional Japanese house are slightly elevated from the ground which allows the circulation of air and protection from moisture/water in the ground. The additional space seen in the picture is used for containing shoes (or for sitting) after which one can go indoors.

62f6097e7222c4ca45668c61a1d9df5d.jpg

Image Source

5. Zabuton

One of the things I adore about the Japanese style is their seating style. I absolutely love the arrangement and the way it looks. So minimalistic!


6660e7e413c54d84740170e57074da3d.jpg

Image Source

6. Roofs

One cannot simply overlook the roofs in these buildings as they are so flamboyant in their appearance.. Tiles are used to cover up the entire roof along with proper drainage systems.

720248f656eab50bd1fc3580cde2ae99.jpg

Image Source

So, there you go! A little about some of the elements of a traditional Japanese house :) I hope you enjoyed this post. I am trying out new things with my blog and let me know what you think about them! Till then..


Keep Creating

Lots of Love <3

Sort:  

Hi... It's so beautiful..!! I loved the interiors... Nice post... @aishwarya

Yes, it is indeed! :) Glad you liked it <3

I'm glad to hear you like Japanese house💕
I like it aswell but its very difficult to live and buy it. My friend's house is tipcal Japanese house like these picture.It's very comfortable but very cold in winter😅HAHAHA
I hope you come to Japan someday😘💕⤴⤴

Wow, I didn't know they were expensive to buy!
I would definitely love to visit Japan someday!! It's so beautiful <3

One of the things I really love about Japanese architecture and design is that it's just so simple, serene and uncluttered. It's a great lesson on how "less is more." Lovely photos, too-- thanks for sharing!

Yes, I completely agree to that. Looks so peaceful and to the point.

Oh I love these! I have never seen such houses before (might have something to do with me living in Europe). But I'd love to check them out. They always have this super relaxed ambience.

Thanks for sharing - Happy Saturday!

(might have something to do with me living in Europe) Hahahah :D
Yes, they do create such a nice atmosphere :)

They sure do. They also give some kind of warm vibe too. I can't imagine such a house being cold.

Somehow the sunlight that falls in these houses just seem to make it even more beautiful.. In my must visit places.. lets see.. someday for sure :P

Yes! It's so mesmerising!
Oh what I wouldn't do to go Japan this instant :P Definitely a must visit place.

Don't worry.. I'm sure some day you also would get there :)

What I like about japanese homes is the feeling that is created by my bare feet when I walked on the tatami mats, somehow it felt really relaxing.

Ah! I wish to experience that someday :)

Superb job @aishwarya. Creativity peeps from each and every bit of this post. Thumbs up.

Steem On!

love your work and the photos look great. i have always been fascinated by japanese culture. keep up the good job

Thanks a lot!
I automatically get attracted to places/things with Japanese influence.

Wonderful post.thanks for shareing.i resteem it

Thanks a lot :)

It's so good dost

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50