Miniature Paintings of Rajasthan

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

The miniature painting style of Rajasthan ( State of India ) has been popular throughout many generations. Many "schools" of painting evolved during the late 16th century and the art and tradition has been carried ever since.

Fortunately, I live in one of the regions that was influenced by this painting style and I happened to visited the City Palace of Jaipur. There are still a few families of artists who have carried the tradition of miniature painting from generation to generation.

As soon as I entered the hall, I was blown away by how huge and beautiful it was! Intricate details and antiques were present all around me. Some of where even hard to believe that they were handmade!

We were not allowed to use cameras or mobiles as per their policy, but we really wanted to see how these paintings were created. So, we sat with some artists and started conversing with them. Many of them were reluctant to talk to us and give us any information at first as they feared that it would pose a threat to their livelihoods. But later on they gradually opened up about the technicalities and were so generous that they allowed us to take pictures of their artworks.

The following paintings are made on stamps which the King of Jaipur actually used!

IMG_9314.JPG

IMG_9316.JPG

IMG_9315.JPG

IMG_9317.JPG

IMG_9312.JPG

IMG_9322.JPG

IMG_9324.JPG

Some very famous music instruments of Rajasthan.

IMG_9327.JPG

IMG_9333.JPG

IMG_9344.JPG

He is the 5th generation in his family line to continue the painting tradition. He also showed us painting made on real peepal leaves. ( See pictures below)

IMG_9330.JPG

IMG_9338.JPG

The paintings are made with natural colors and vegetable oils. And sometimes there is use of real gold too!

IMG_9301.JPG

IMG_9300.JPG

IMG_9297.JPG

The paintings on the leaves were so mesmerizing that I felt I could look at them for hours! These leaves go under a specific process of washing and drying to be of perfect condition to paint.

Men and women appear in proportion. Male figures have clean, attractive faces. They are often depicted with swords tied to their waists. Wealthy men are shown wearing turban, kurta, pyjama, chogga, angrakin, belt, pataka, shoes in such paintings.

Female figures are shown with large eyes, bunch of long hair, stout physique and pleasant mood. Artists drew elegant gardens to provide the background in paintings.

IMG_9306.JPG

IMG_9305.JPG

IMG_9304.JPG

Illustration of deities ( Lord Krishna & Radha )

IMG_9289.JPG

IMG_9294.JPG

IMG_9291.JPG

Hope you enjoyed these pictures and learned something new as these have very rich history behind them.

If you want, you can learn more at : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rajput_painting

Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

I am blown away by the intricacies of these paintings especially the ones painted on the leaves. I have heard about this state but this is the first time I read about the paintings associated with it. Big thanks to those artists who were so kind in allowing you to take pictures of them. And thanks to you too for sharing them with us. I learned something new today. 🙂

I know right! I was completely mesmerized by their techniques and materials, and yes they were kind enough to let us photograph. Great that I could share this with everybody, cheers! :)

Thanks for sharing this :)

What a beautiful display of fine art :)

Good post!.. Incredible india!

hey bro......
I am new at steemit
I follow you and please I am request to you that follow me and upvote my posts.
hope you will help me.

@aishwarya This post is so underrated with just 8 dollars! Like the effort you put into it explaining the traditions. Love the peacocks and elephants, but especially the ones on the leaves are beautiful.

Aww, that's very kind of you :) @gococonuts
Yes, I thought this was something definitely worth sharing and very happy that you enjoyed them! have a nice day :)

Wow, how amazing! Now I rally got inspired for my TinyArtChallenge :D You should try it maybe? Upvoted and resteemed!

hahah That's wonderful!
And thanks for the support, will be looking into that challenge of yours ;)

Wow... these are really amazing. So beautiful

Yes they are! :)

I LOVE the ones on the leaves. Gives a very unique look..

Great to see something from Rajasthan :D

@things is from there, take a look!

Yes! So well detailed :)
Sure, will check her page soon!

Oh wow, so stunning! I especially like the leaf paintings, that's really extraordinary!

Yep! The entire process is very very interesting and the efforts are just mind boggling!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30