Hands-on Experience With Gouache For The First Time!

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

...Aaaaand I am in love with it! I was partially immersed in this media just by watching videos for a long long time but I finally used gouache right now and I am beyond happy and excited considering the possibilities of it!

I took a picture of friend @komal just a few weeks ago with a gorgeous sunset in the background and little silhouettes of some buildings of the city. The picture below is of the cerulean blue with minnie small's videos running in the background because it's such a mind soother for me and I love hearing her when I paint.

IMG_6192.jpeg

IMG_6178.JPG

IMG_6179.JPG

IMG_6185.JPG

I went for a cheaper brand as I am just starting with this medium and didn't want to go straight for the super expensive stuff. But the paints seemed well intact and ready to use. I kept popping them one by one to begin with my work.

I started off with the blues to the sunset going in a downward direction and 10 seconds of applying the paint made me already see it's huge difference with watercolor. Initially, I felt like I was all over the place maybe because I put too much water (still a mind of watercolor :P) The paint was a little more diluted and I honestly felt like things were spiralling out of control for a minute or so. Also the paper was not a wise choice, I think. But as I used a little less water, I saw it getting more solid and painting the sunset hues got a little challenging. I absolutely LOVE the creamy feeling while using the thicker consistency (picture after the below one) and could feel why gouache is so relaxing.

IMG_6186.JPG

IMG_6189.JPG

IMG_6198.JPG

IMG_6199.JPG

IMG_6196.JPG

I think these 30 minutes have warmed me up for some more challenging paintings but before that I need to practice some swatches and mixing because they tend to change colors when they dry up and that is definitely gonna take some time to get used to while also remembering the combinations.

I am sure I will get there slowly but surely and am so excited to go and try another one right now. I will be sharing my progress here too because feedbacks are one of the best ways to grow and learn!


Hope you all are having a lovely day <3


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Not only painting, you also writes Beautifully 👌👌

Great result but also great photos

Thanks a lot! <3

You got a 37.93% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 59417.78
ETH 2588.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45