Southwest Airlines: They Day Of The Peanut Is Over... Why? We Got The Info Right From The Last Flights Serving!

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday marked a historic day for Southwest Airlines. July 31st 2018: The last day Southwest Airlines served peanuts. This tradition is part of the airline and has been since the early days of Southwest. The peanut is such a huge part of the Southwest culture the original CEO Herb Kelleher has a book by Kevin Freiburg titled "NUTS!".


(Loading the final bags of peanuts to the Chicago-bound flight)

Me being an aviation buff I had heard some news of this but I never thought I would actually be on one of the last peanut serving flights. We were in Las Vegas this week for the ASD convention and set to fly back to Chicago on July 31st. Nothing special other than the thrill "for me" of flying in one of the newer 737-800's complete with "scimitar winglets". That is the new style that goes both upwards and downwards.


(Note the winglet shape going upwards and downwards)

Once we were on the plane and settled in the flight attendant started his announcements. In anyone is familiar with SWA, sometimes you get an attendant that puts a lot of jokes and has a bit of fun while they do the safety briefing. The problem was when he announced it was the last day they would be serving peanuts most people thought it was just part of the joking way of his announcement. He even said if anyone would like to take home some extra bag just ask.

I took him up on this. I received a whole unopened large container of peanuts. My two co-workers were amazed that they gave me that many and asked if I could get them so as well. I just asked and then two more containers were being dropped off to our row!

I had to ask what the reasons were behind the decision. I was told by the flight crew that it was due to people with nut allergy's. I think since people are crazy about suing airlines lately and all the videos of confrontations it was just easier to axe the nuts. I hope they do come back someday.

It was maybe just a small part of aviation history but I am glad to be a part of it.


(Me on SWA flight WN100 Las Vegas to Chicago July 31st 2018)

Sort:  

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13