Sacrificing "The Self" For Originality

in #blog6 years ago

When I was in high-school I had a literature teacher that knew how to make us not cheat at tests and stimulate us also to be true with the class and to ourselves. She always promised to us "the originality point", no exception, that we would get for not cheating and stealing someone else work, even with our won words, and the ones respecting "this deal" were always rewarded. I remember this because literature was my favorite and the only one class where I would have high grades with no stress to learn something I didn't like.

When it comes to originality for Steem it is also a must and a criteria that might bring some points to ones wallet, similar to the ones my teacher offered us, but being original means also being yourself? In some cases that might be the case, but the situation doesn't apply to all of us. I, myself, have sacrificed myself for originality a few times and I am not proud of it. Even though I haven't stole anybody's work not all my posts reflect myself. Some of them are even far from "my portfolio" of feelings, thoughts and passions, but I did these also. Why?

Because it was the trend and "it was successful". Even if everybody was writing with "his own words" lots of us were circling around the same topics. Whether it was about how to be successful on Steem, about Bitcoin, or what can we do to make Steem better there were tons of "originals" on the same shit. I even remember one user, at the beginning of "my life" on Steem, asking his followers about what would they like to read about in his posts and I suggested him to give them "circus", as that was what I felt like proper to get upvotes at that time. The man was not a bad blogger or a newbie, but it simply run out of votes and interaction on his posts an that started to stress him out.

WhatsApp Image 2018-07-25 at 11.19.06.jpeg

Looking back at what he did I realize that he wrote too much about Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies and he did that especially when they were falling down the uphill they were in January. Bitcoin is definitely a topic and it will be for years to come, but when you only write about Bitcoin, and tens others do it also, you become just a background for others posts and you might end up only with the auto votes you earned "back in the days" when being successful on Steem wasn't that hard. Sometimes "the new" attracts the new.

Don't get me wrong, the guy was original, but too original on a topic that some more others "were original" also. As I mentioned above, this kind of originality trapped me also by writing "with my own words" on topics that I didn't really love or took my breath away when talking about.

Being yourself, on the other hand, won't get you in the situation to ask your followers for topics because being yourself never ends. Well, it ends when you die, but until then there are tons of Steem pages to fill with... why not "yourself" and your own things. Someday it might be about Bitcoin or the hyped news around it, but in the other it might be about the bugger on your nose that your boss noticed and laughed about. I don't mind reading about "buggers laugh" from time to time instead of reading the same lines and "Steem college degrees papers" that I see very often around Steem.

I appreciate proper documented posts and "serious topics", but man, sometimes I want to laugh about something funny and genuine or enjoy your vacation with you on the Steem blog. That's I think being yourself will outpace being original on Steem. Definitely originality is a thing, but when 10 people talk about dogs the highest audience will have the one talking about his own. People love subjectivity and small talks although not all of them admit that so don't be afraid to be yourself. Votes, comments and flags will come either way. You can't please everyone, but there's always someone smiling back if you wear the proper smile.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

As I continue to think about how to expand my reach on the platform, I tend to think about this more often. I have been trying to mix it up a bit but its a challenge for me as I am not a writer by trade so I tend to stick on posting about what I know. Great post, thanks for sharing!

I tend to stick on posting about what I know.

The best strategy in my opinion.

Truth!
I see a good bit of my followers posting “just the facts” instead of being original and immersing themselves in their content. As we continue to grow, I am concerned that these folks may get hidden in the masses of other posts about the same thing. That is why when you share from your own perspective, you will never go wrong.
Thanks for this reminder - resteeming!

Thanks for the resteem and for sharing your opinion. As I mentioned in the post I like opinions :)

@acesontop Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

I voted for this post because it speaks to everyone.
Either you've forfeited yourself for a post that's trending to get votes or you forfeit votes to be yourself. To me there is no middle. With every single post I ask myself is this what you REALLY want to say?
By doing so I may never be a whale but hey, I can't swim so I'd rather soar like an eagle with a free spirit that be stuck in a tank like the Killer Whales at Sea World!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65