LOVE WORK - african proverbs 04.05.18

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

U5dsWiPdmLV22T8HdWGC6rKTsEFHwde_1680x8400.jpeg
Source: art by @joyart

It’s much easier to fall in love than to stay in love. ~ African proverb

A friend once told me that the longest relationship he had ever had lasted for 6 months and that love was overrated. I was a bit taken aback. My present relationship is beyond 3 years and we still love each other like when we started. Am not writing to debate the existence of love. Some say it doesn't exist, others say it does. I'll summarise my opinion in the image below.

images.jpeg

Source

Staying in love demands a conscious effort. I have had a few rough edges with my partner. Some times we argue, disagree or just want to be alone for a while,, but the end we always make peace. It's not a fairy tale love story. I need to constantly remind myself why I fell in love in the first place. Do you think you have a future together?, You ask. My answer is, God has given us today as a gift. The future will answer for itself when it comes.

I attended a marriage seminar early this year and the speaker said " from my years in counselling married people, I have found that some marriages fail not because the couple's didn't love each other at the start, but because some couple's don't find reason to keep loving." So from here I'll just say this," stay in love for the reasons you fell in love or for reasons you can find or create"

Am christian, and forgive me if your not of the same faith. But I'll just share this passage that makes a lot of meaning to me. I use it to guide my love life and recommend it strongly to both married and single people whether your christian or not.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.
1 Corinthians 13:4‭-‬8 NIV
https://bible.com/bible/111/1co.13.4-8.NIV

If you think you made the right choice in your love life, try put a little work to keep it as the right choice.

Thanks to @joyart for today's feature artwork.

green-47700_960_720.png

Proverbs have inspired me for a long time. There is so much wisdom in them. My father always told me a few every now and then. Hope to share my thoughts from this daily with you.

Being an art lover, I'll also be featuring art from creative artists from @artzone and ones posted with #artzone just as my little way of promoting art here on steemit.

What are your thoughts on this proverb? What do you think it means? Feel free to share below.

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86