Why Autistic Adults Struggle With Employment

in #blog5 years ago

I am going to share my Wordpress blog on here. Now before you quote me, I am aware of a plugin. However, the free Wordpress plan does not allow you to add plugins. And I have no money for hosting nor the paid plans. I rather use a trusted host like Bluehost, Go Daddy etc. I will add highlights and provide the link to the full blog so the copy bots won't get me.
hand-1538204_960_720.png

if you're gonna invalidate this, keep on walking.

-Believe it or not, a lot of ASD people are unemployed. Only a small amount is in some paid work. Some cannot hold down a job, some never get passed the interview. There are a lot of reasons why autistic people struggle to get or keep a job. just because you were able to find one doesn't mean everyone is as lucky as you. Before you comment 'my X has autism and he has been at his job for X years'
not all autistics are like your X. Remember, only a small % of autistic adults are in some paid work.

-the interview can be a struggle for a lot of reasons. The person can take the questions too literally. A question the person wasn't ready for can pop up. The interviewer can see they are not looking him/her in the eye and assume the interviewee is being rude. ASD people don't make eye contact, directly.

-The job itself is the real struggle. The person can be more than qualified for the job. But they are fired, reprimanded for behaviors caused by their disorder. For not working fast enough. Missing social cues etc.
For more information, visit my blog: https://aaliyahholtblog.wordpress.com/2018/10/29/autism-and-unemployment-pt2

Sort:  

Check this site out my girl, if you haven't already done so, it could very well be what you are looking for, something to call your own business, you work at your own pace and no boss to tell you you're fired! Give it a look and see, there's plenty to keep you busy.
https://www.sfi4.com/16413189/FREE

I will check them out, thanks!

Very good, I see you have signed up! Welcome and I thank you very much, and like I said there is a lot to keep you busy all day building something for yourself, you'll see :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78