My Struggles With ADHD

in #blog6 years ago

ADHD struggles rev.jpg
If you liked the video on my struggles with autism, you will like this video, I talk about my struggles with ADHD. ADHD and autism are very alike, but different conditions.

  1. Remembering Things
    This is a huge struggle of mine. I give up explaining it to my grandma because she is going to say I am making excuses.
    But you can tell me something and I will forget moments later. Think of it like a door, a person without ADHD, when they get information, the door will close, so they can process the information that was given. But a person with ADHD, the door will not close and the info will keep flowing and the person cannot process it. Think of it like the Bermuda Triangle. I forgot a girls name and she asked me if I had Alzheimer's. And that is in elderly people so her question made no sense. How the hell is a 15 year old ( I was 15 when this happened) going to have Alzheimer's. Now most ADHD sufferers will have difficultly explaining their symptoms to a Nerotypical( a person without ADHD). You would expect someone in their 70s to have memory issues, not someone in their early 20s ( I'm 22 BTW)

2)Completing Tasks
Now I struggles with this when I was in school ( I still do today) most ADHD individuals, not speaking for everyone. But some with ADHD may not finish a task they start. They could of easily gotten frustrated or stressed with the task and stopped. I think the person needs a break in between to let the brain rest and refuel.

  1. Keeping Up With My Stuff/Losing Things
    I have lost count on how many earrings, gloves,socks that i have lost. My mom even said she is tired of buying me things that I wind up losing. I also struggle with remembering where I put said item. I can have a shirt, and put that shirt somewhere, and I will forget where I put it days later. Then my mom will ask for the shirt and I have to search my room until I find it.
  1. Sleeping ( Sometimes)
    An ADHD/ADD brain is always racing, this can cause some insomnia in a person with ADD/ADHD. Like when I was in school, the night before I had school, I had trouble falling asleep. This was troublesome because I had to get up at 5:30am and be on the bus stop at 6:30am. Its even unhealthy if you do not get your full 8 hours of sleep. How I wish I can be normal.

That's all for this video. If you liked it then leave an upvote and a follow.

Sort:  

thank you for this! mental health is a topic that the black community avoids, so this i appreciate this! blessings!

Glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52