You just don't understand some choices of managers

in #blof5 years ago (edited)


Source

I was hired by a company to professionalize a development team. There are several external employees who want to replace management with internal employees. So far so good. Now 2 people have been hired and none of the team has been involved in the application process and interview. This does not seem useful to me because team members can determine whether someone fits in the team and has the required knowledge.

In this case that did not happen. So today the new developer came for his first day. Partly due to holidays there was not really a training program set up to board him so they asked me to pick this up. In itself strange as external but ok. The first thing I did with him today was getting a cup of coffee. Then I explained to him exactly what we do, how we do it and how the team works.

Then I asked him about his background. He immediately indicated that he was not a developer, and of course I was surprised because he was hired as a developer. Agile (scrum) is being worked on within our team, and he had no knowledge of that ... Another surprise for me. And finally, I asked him how good he is with Powershell, and he didn't know enough about that either.

I sincerely wondered how on earth he could be hired. Almost 100% no score. When I had parked it at a colleague's office, I started calling the manager who hired him. I didn't get it, so I sent an app. My question was pretty simple, to which of the team should I link it to show the environment? And I reported my findings. I got a message back that he would become a SCRUM master (the role that I now play) but that he would receive training for this (he knew nothing about this), he would also be trained as a developer and I was not allowed to join him at the operations team ... This all seemed rather strange to me ... It seemed as if the manager had a totally different picture of the person then I had in my room..

The most bizarre came at the end of the day. A direct colleague from my team had a brief chat with the new man, more to have a social chat. He said "welcome to the team" and do you know what the new man said? Uh .... yes, this wasn't really the intention at all .... So he doesn't like the place, as a developer. I was dumbfounded ...

How can such a mismatch arise? I immediately submitted a meeting for tomorrow morning with the manager to discuss this because this is going wrong, believe me ...

I just don't get it....Why is it often with managers that they make choices without getting feedback of the team. In this case, when the new man is really hired on the wrong purpose he is going to be very unhappy... The other side, the team is having someone they can't build on and that again is bad for team spirit and eventually productivity...

Have a great night and I hope things will be cleared tommorow...

Peter




I am with QURATOR, are You?




I am using Esteem



Alt text

I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.



steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

The more I hear from you and the other old colleagues the happier I am I got out when I did. Very strange things are happening there and again it gives me the feeling the manager has a double agenda.
What springs to mind by me is that She want's to replace all the externals but don't want to include them in the process because she is afraid that you guys leave before the knowledge transfer has taken place. I hope that all this doesn't influence the working atmosphere is becoming to bad. And is the PO not stepping up for you guys?😂 🤣
!trdo

Congratulations @tijntje, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @verhp11!
@verhp11 got 0.10843200 TRDO & @tijntje got 0.07228800 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Congratulations @verhp11! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh dear, you can't for a scrum master who had no knowledge of agile or even scrum! And to think he will train as a Dev too. Oh dear of dear!

Yes, recepie for disaster mu guess....

Hi, @verhp11!

You just got a 2.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @verhp11!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.504 which ranks you at #6938 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 91 contributions, your post is ranked at #36.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I wish I knew more about powershell. It seems like a very powerful tool. Managers can do some crazy things. One of the ones I hate the most, is when they ask your opinion on something even though they have obviously already made up their mind about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Powershell is indeed very powerfull, complete deployments and desired state configuration can run on Powershell... Indeed the "Ask your opinion" sounds very familiar, don't ask me if you already have made your mind up.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94