Why BlockTrades

in #blocktrades7 years ago (edited)

030.jpg
Courtesy: Google Images

One thing you should understand about me is that I come from an age when sticks were high-tech. If you think I'm exaggerating, ask @stevescoins who spent an entire afternoon helping me set up my Bittrex account and transferring $10 to Bitpay to get my card operational. So when my friend @dwinblood wrote a little while ago that you could deposit to your card, wallet, etc. directly using Blocktrades, naturally I was interested. Anyone that uses Bittrex, or one of the other exchanges, knows what I'm talking about. I've been having a couple of other issues with them of late as well... About one out of every three times I use it, I get an email informing me that someone using a different IP address has been trying to access my account. Also, about half of the time, when I try to transfer Steem or SBD, the "wallet is under maintenance," very annoying.

The first time I tried using Blocktrades- no joy (big surprise). So I contacted @dwinblood for some advice and once again- no joy (no fault of his I assure you). I contacted Blocktrades support and within 5 minutes I had a reply. A very helpful gentleman named Dan sent me a link to a Steemit tutorial by @cryptofiend that walks you step by step through the whole simple process (I'll supply the link at the bottom). I tried again and EUREKA! I emailed Dan again, this time thanking him for his help and once again, I heard back within 5 minutes... That in itself is amazing.

In his tutorial, @cryptofiend lists his own reasons for using Blocktrades. Some of mine probably mirror his, I'm not sure, but here are mine (and why you should too)...

  1. You don't need an account or wallet. I opened one because I, like @cryptofiend like a record of my transactions.

  2. It's incredibly easy to use. After reading the tutorial (which is very well written by the way) I discovered I almost had it- I had missed one step. Like the old Geico commercial says "It's so easy a caveman can do it" (and if I can then it must be true.

  3. It's quick- the whole verification email step has been eliminated. Doing a transfer using Bittrex usually takes up to 15 minutes... I can make 3 using Blocktrades in that time.

  4. The most important reason in my opinion: @blocktrades is a member and big supporter of the Steemit community. To me, this outweighs any other consideration. As I've written time and time again, Steemit is a community, one where we all contribute in one way or another... we are our own support group. I haven't compared the fees between Blocktrades and Bittrex (I suspect Blocktrades is less) but even if it were three times higher, I'd still choose them just for how much they contribute to the platform. If you're using one of the exchanges, I would seriously consider switching to Blocktrades.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@thecryptofiend/how-to-use-the-new-blocktrades-interface-to-exchange-steem-for-bitcoins

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

I went thru the bittrex nuisance trying to fund my bitpay card and it was an absolute failure. I paid commissions and brought the money back to Steemit. Then I tried @blocktrades and it was smooth sailing. Even a caveman....

I'm tellin ya! I just wish I found them first. The most amazing thing was how responsive their support tems is... Unbelievable! The reason I posted is because a lot of my friends on here are old too and don't have that "tech gene" young people seem to have.

I prefer blocktrades.us than anyone else, I am also hoping that one day, I can trade monero and flashcoin with the blocktrades. So far, blocktrades is the best.

I couldn't agree more... Many of my friends here are old too and I posted hoping they will try it... we don't all seem to have the "tech gene."

Changelly is good too, but I have a problem with password.

What you said about Bittrex...ditto.
I'm outa there.
I've used BlockTrades a little bit...I'm still not comfortable with it...
BUT...what you said about Bittrex.

It's gotten a lot worse since their HF. I've done three or four trades using Blocktrades and I like it. Plus their customer service really impressed me!

I can vouch for the fact that blocktrades has great customer service!

And it's so easy to use! I really was amazed at how fast they got back to me... and how good they are about helping. I'm old, I put a lot of stock in good service- that means a lot to me!

back in june I was using Bittrex five or ten times a day...then bad things happened
I've never had occassion to utilize Blocktrades customer service...I didn't realize that they had one.

I never had any problems with them until the HF. I'll still probably keep my account (at least until I find another place to invest) I have a little LTC and a couple other cryptos- maybe $200 altogether

Good luck.
I haven't decided what I'm gonna do.
Improvise, adapt, and overcome is the watchword....
what I think I'm a gonna do changes by the hour.

That said..the Shift Card from CoinDesk is kinda nice.

I keep reading about all of these cryptos coming out with their own cards, but I don't know... I bought Monaco (one of the ones with a card) at $25 and now it's around $10! For now- I'm staying with Bitpay- it works everywhere. And I'm really pleased with Blocktrades (at least they respond if you have a problem)

never heard of bitplay...(shift cost me $10).
I'm glad to hear that Blocktrades actually HAS customer service...that's a rare thing today.

That's what Bitpay was ($9.95) for the card and $2.00 a transaction.

As long as there is a choice, I choose @blocktrades! It is so convenient and quick and, like you said, all of the other exchanges break down and their service sucks.

Amen to that! I wish I found them first!

I also use blocktrades and for the same reason that you wrote! I have to say that he (or she) is also very gentle if you have an isssue!

Yes! That's really important to me!

Same here, I'm giving up on the exchanges as a bad joke. That bad joke will only become worse as they starting to fall under the scrutiny of various regulators. Expect more restrictions from the exchanges.

It's so ridiculous... I'm sick of changing passwords every other day to stay ahead of the crooks!

The biggest crooks are the banksters and the governments that support them with their laws and regulations.

You got that right!

I've used @blocktrades since I started on Steemit and have also dealt with the very helpful Dan. I've always been happy.

I only wish I knew before!!! The headaches of Bittrex since their HF... Egad!!!

I am a true crypto newbie and have only done a few trades here on steemit and I also used @blocktrades. It was quite simple, luckily for me! lol

I really am too... I never started trading until June. I've been using @blocktrades for about 2 days now and I'm pleased as can be!

"One thing you should understand about me is that I come from an age when sticks were high-tech."

You are one funny man! Good information as well!

It's not far from the truth! I have a wicked time trying to figure these things out- I still write with pen and paper, then edit while typing it in. Speaking of which, how do you like this... In the land of the blind a one-eyed man may be king- but in the realm of the dead and dying, a spectre reigns supreme (The beginning of Night Gods III)

you are a funny man, in the city of the blind, the one eye man is king, hahahahahahahaha, I haven't heard that in years, good one

I guarantee the story will not be funny!!!

I use Bittrex, I have never had any problems, I hope things haven't changed since my last withdrawal

This so much easier and faster... I'm done with Bittrex!

I haven't got a clue how to use it

Go to the bottom of my post and click on the link... It walks you through the whole thing. If you can use Bittrex, this is easy (even I can do it)!

Hahahah I have and still stuck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48