BLOCKTRADES | An Animated Gif

in #blocktrades7 years ago (edited)
In this post I shall walk you through how I turned the @blocktrades logo into this animated gif.


I use @blocktrades most weeks and I'm always really impressed by its simplicity. I find it's one of those creations that just works. So to celebrate @blocktrades, and to say thank you to the development team, I decided to make an animated gif from their logo.

blocktrades logo.jpg

  • I first needed a decent size image of the @blocktrades logo. I was unable to find one online that was a suitable size to use in the animation so I ended up recreating it in Adobe Illustrator.


1-bt-ill.jpg


  • I next found a selection of different currency symbols to make up each of the 6 faces of the cube.
    currency.jpg


  • I then colored each one of the symbols using the @Blocktrades logo color palette and resized them all to 400 x 400px in Adobe Photoshop.
    2-currency-PS.jpg


  • Once I had prepared all the assets for animating I imported them into Adobe After Effects where I built the cube in the 3D environment. To make the cube spin I first linked the layers to a separate null object and then key-framed each of the x, y, z coordinates independently.
    3-block-AE.jpg

    3-block-AE2.jpg


below is the finished gif in 3 different sizes.

600 pixel wide

Blocktrades-Final-Cube2-600px.gif

300 pixel wide

Blocktrades-Final-Cube2-300px.gif

150 pixel wide

Blocktrades-Final-Cube2-150px.gif


Thanks @blocktrades team for the great service you provide.




Sort:  

Really nice work bro!

I am super impressed. I love the concept and look of rotating 3D geometry. I love sacred geometry and this is a nice one!

I need to get on discord with you and talk about some of your ideas and utilize ur skills! How do I find you on there?

Thanks. Yes it made sense to have a spinning block as its 'block'trades :)

Jump in here pal. https://discord.gg/3gysr7u

Or find me on Steemit chat.
Cool. Speak soon
@animate

PRETTY DAMN COOL !! (-:

Hey thanks pal. It was enjoyable to make as well.

@animate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57