Highlights of my music made in the past 2 months / A Block Mountain Submission Post

in #blockmountain6 years ago

This post is my submission to the #BlockMountain contest put on by @djlethalskillz and @scuzzy. Two extremely dope producers and great Steemians who really care about the platform! If you haven't checked them out or know about Block Mountain, go to their profiles and take a look. They are going to literally change the face of music on the blockchain as we know it!

Two days ago was my two month anniversary on Steemit. Seems like such a long time ago! So much has changed in just the last two months of my life because of Steemit and I can't thank this platform enough.

I have created more music in the last 2 months then I did in entire YEARS before Steemit. Back when I was pursuing music a few years ago, I had put out a mixtape and featured on a couple songs, and that was over a years worth of work. In just the past two months I've made more music than that entire year of making music, which is just insane.

This is me going over some of my favorite music that I've made here. I will start with the older music and go towards the newer stuff at the bottom. I think this will be cool to see the progression I've made in such a short time.

The first song was recorded with a phone, so the quality is not the best.

WARNING: Contains graphic content

This was my first major piece of music on the blockchain, and was the first song I had written/recorded in almost 5 years. It was for @v4vapid's #tinfoilraps competition, in which I came in 1st place. I love doing topicals because they allow you to step outside of yourself and try to see the world from different view points. I really enjoy doing that with my music.

First song recorded with an actual mic


Click picture for Dtube animated video or here for Dsound

"Breathe" is a song that I wrote to an animated music video. Once again, I used the video as a reference for a topic. I love topicals, and I think that is my best talent, being able to write about practically anything. I think this talent would come in handy with the block mountain project.


Click picture for Dsound

This was a political song I made because I was just really frustrated with a lot that was going on politically. I think a lot of people can relate to this. Once again, it's a topical. I enjoy doing those the most because they are challenging to write. You have to stay on topic while keeping solid lyrics and a good flow.

This was a song I needed to write for myself. I had been writing a lot of sad songs around that time. When I write lyrics, they have a really profound impact on my day to day life, my personality, my emotions, etc. When I get in a funk, or feel a little sad, I'll try to write about that in order to express those emotions, but in doing so, I go deeper into the rabbit whole. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it can really get out of hand. This was an attempt to bring myself out of that rabbit whole, and it worked wonderfully :D.

This is a verse to a song that I collaborated with @seveaux on. I think it showcases my ability to give a constant multi-syllable rhyme scheme while riding the beat and keeping consistent flow.

This is a song that I made around the same time of "Time to eat". Fast flow, multi-syllable rhymes, etc. It showcases my ability to deliver rhymes differently, keep it tight while flowing fast.

"Just HODL" is a song I made for @sirlunchthehost's Animated violence mixtape. It's another topical based around the blockchain. I think this is another showcase of my ability to tackle almost any topic I'm given while keeping a good rhyme scheme and flow.

This was a fun song to make. The chorus isn't me obviously, but I really enjoy trying out different styles of rap. This is more along the lines of drake, future, etc. More trap-ish style with some auto tune and what not. Really had fun with this one.

"56 BARS" showcases my ability to deliver punchline after punchline. This is practically 56 bars of non stop punches. This was for @termitemusic's "World wide cypher jam". Really enjoyed making this, and also have a video of me rapping it here.

This is my latest song I've made, and to be honest, probably my favorite out of the bunch. I've enjoyed making all the other songs, but this one really pulled me out of a deep funk I was in the other day, and is one that I produced myself. Probably the only actual "hiphop" song that I've ever produced and rapped over for myself. It's very experimental in how I mix it, the vocals, etc, but I really had fun messing around with this song and it was very much just a stream of consciousness from mind to microphone. Practically the entire song was freestyled and then I went back an re-recorded it, chopped it up and placed it in different places. Really fun song!

So! That's my recap of my last two months of music on Steem. I had about double the amount of songs, but I didn't want to post everything, and like I said these are my favorites. I hope you guys enjoyed listening/reading!

Are you a music creator or just love music?
  • Steem Music Alliance. Singers, producers, everything.
  • #thecut is the SPOT for all things hip hop related.

Sort:  

Near the Light is DOPE, love this track brother!

Thanks so much man! That had to be some of the most fun I've ever made making music. It all just kinda fell together and I really enjoyed making that one. I'm glad you enjoyed it and appreciate you checking this out dude!!

I think I've listened to it over 10x already!

Ahhh, that's the reason it's had a bunch of plays yesterday, hahaha! I'm really glad you enjoy it dude, about it make it downloadable if you want to have it on your other devices, playlists, etc.

this is fly james... all of your content is expansive man! hella inspiring as well, that animated video is my favorite! respect fam

Thanks dude, really appreciate you taking the time to come check this out.

High quality stuff. One of the best ive seen on Steemit. Youll do good here, im sure.

Awwww, thanks so much! I'll stop picking on you in SMA, haha!

Haha. Dont worry. You pick on me, i pick on scuzzy. Round and round it goes. 😂

i am wrong setu hip hop lovers in indonesia

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by JamesGetsIt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dope entries! Kudos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40