Sort:  

I think this is one of the few times in my life I felt like I could not read fast enough. I had the feeling like I had to hurry and get to the end.

You are nailing it with your end time scenarios.
As I told you before I don't read much fiction, but because I read the other short story. I HAD TO READ THIS!

Imma hafta write a piece where the good guys don't die =p

I think it says a lot about me that all I've written of late involves the death of the protagonist.

Do you think any good guys can even survive in our world today? I think you are right on track!

I see that many are. I look to the future, however, and my own disavowal of hope colors my perception of the potential course our world will take. It says more about me than the world, IMHO.

All technology has potential. Whether it be used for good or for evil is down to choice.

And the only way to prevent a total wipe-out is to prevent a monopoly in technology or choice.

Your writing here is excellent and the story compelling.

Thank you for sharing.

You're kind. You're also right about monopoly, and how dangerous it can be to free people.

Thanks!

Chills down to my bone reading this, VC. Well done. The control and the subtle remark of how blockchain transparency can be used to disadvantage people. The power is ripe for the plucking.

The idea of a national cryptocurrency gone wrong made me wonder where you could hide from it.

The answer was 'No where.'

Aerial drones and facial recognition software make even the most remote wilderness just as easily surveilled as any town center.

Thanks!

I think we talked about the only way out will be underground!

On a different topic, you may well be interested in seeing this.

Helps to put a face to a name, or a real name to an @name.

Just the way the characters carry themselves tells us loads of information.
Thanks for the info once again.

Great story! These entries in the blockchains contest have been very sobering.

Brilliant! Yes, asymmetric information access is foundation of all authoritarian governing entities. Money is nothing more than representation of information regarding wealth, and controlling access points to money, effectively controls access to wealth. The security agent's duties resemble exactly the operations of the East German stasi and current US character assainations perpetrated by the luegenpresse and social media.

It is quite tragic, yet believable, that the Western corporatocracy would be indifferent to the proper training and the long-term retention of their security operatives. Well trained, highly skilled internal security agents are extremely valuable to proper functioning of a state; they are not the easily replaceable fodder of the military or the police. I suppose we live in an era, and will likely continue to live in an era, of inelegant governing methods that rely purely on obtuse force application. Such waste of resource, like the protagonist in the story, is downright sinful.

That brutish execution of political ends is endemic in Western corporatism, generally, I note. I visited a doctor for a wound on my knee that didn't heal. He took a sharpie and drew a cross on it, gave me 4 vials of unguents, and told me to apply a different one to each of the four quarters of the lesion, and call him after the weekend.

One of them seemed to be working, and he prescribed it.

While this was seemingly a blatant exercise in admission of ignorance, I found it vastly preferable to the more common practice of doctors of pretense to omniscience, in which they would say 'Ah, it's this you have, and this will fix you right up.' Then, as each unguent serially fails, they prescribe the next, until they hit on the one that works, or your leg falls off, whichever comes first.

Give me honest ignorance and experiment to discover the facts any day! Rather than ignorance, it is the pretense of being infallible that is most bestial and rude. This quality is remarkably evident in political discourse, in the need to divide 'us' against 'them' and so create political power.

That brutish execution of political ends is endemic in Western corporatism, generally, I note. I visited a doctor for a wound on my knee that didn't heal. He took a sharpie and drew a cross on it, gave me 4 vials of unguents, and told me to apply a different one to each of the four quarters of the lesion, and call him after the weekend.

One of them seemed to be working, and he prescribed it.

While this was seemingly a blatant exercise in admission of ignorance, I found it vastly preferable to the more common practice of doctors of pretense to omniscience, in which they would say 'Ah, it's this you have, and this will fix you right up.' Then, as each unguent serially fails, they prescribe the next, until they hit on the one that works, or your leg falls off, whichever comes first.

Give me honest ignorance and experiment to discover the facts any day! Rather than ignorance, it is the pretense of being infallible that is most bestial and rude. This quality is remarkably evident in political discourse, in the need to divide 'us' against 'them' and so create political power.

They don't call it medical practice because it's an exact science, but because they are practising on us.

I often ask my customers...... would they write me a check, if I told them their kitchen had a 50 percent chance of recovering when they hired me to remodel it.

but that is exactly what we get from Dr's and Lairs, oops I mean Lawyers....maybe?

I mispronounce that word 'lawyers' alla time.

It almost always comes out 'liars'.

Grrr! Steemit is broken again. I keep getting multiples when I post a comment. Dunno why it's happening, but I'm actually getting in the habit of writing it, copying to clipboard, posting it, and then canceling the post when I get the error message.

Sorry about the double post.

Another great story! When hubby found it, we read it right then. I just now have the time to comment.

Amero

I heard that before, back when we had our premarital counseling class. One of the ladies in the class works at a bank and confirmed that they already have Amero dollars printed and stored ready for the North American Union - Canada US and Mexico being one nation.

That said, it's not far fetched to have Amero crypto coin instead...

I tend to collate bits of information that inspire me when they coalesce into a vision of what could come of them, lately usually rather grim predictions.

I find it not likely to be coincidence that The Economist's prediction of the collapse of fiat paper currencies and replacement with a global currency was this exact year, either.

econ.jpg

Well, the bits and pieces of information is out there for us to piece together. You're one of the gifted ones to see them and piece them together.

My husband and I talk about these things and like you, grim predictions. We're not pessimists but the way things are now, it's only going to be worse leading to "correction" (hahaha like a TA analysis). Seriously, there are no coincidences...

Great work here @valued-customer .. it almost feels so close you could reach out and touch it, one wrong decision away .. the blockchains of today morphing into the shackles of tomorrow. Indeed for those with freedom in their hearts, a world of chains will leave nowhere to hide. A great addition to the contest .. excellent stuff!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30