You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Sausage-Fest!

in #blockchain6 years ago

PS - Where were all the women of crypto in 2009? I can't remember a single one. I can remember looking into bitcoin around 2010 because I was looking into payment processors for my website, but thought it was nothing more than just another Paypal. Then William Stickevers reminded me about bitcoin in 2015. I almost signed up for Coinbase then, but the KYC crap and my pressing responsibilities side tracked me again and I didn't get back to it again until the beginning of 2017 (just in time for it to moon a few months later).

Because there were no women back in the beginning that I can recall, that means that the majority of the wealth in the crypto community is held by men. We all know that change doesn't happen by the vote, but by who has the money (another Citizens United dilemma). This is the most likely source of the problem.

You need someone like Oprah to come in and buy out bitcoin (she could do it as a billionaire) and that would go a long way toward evening the score.

Sort:  

That would def help, but you are absolutely right, the people who are in on something in the beginning usually hold the lion's share of the wealth thereafter.

Historically speaking, computers have been marketed toward men, and that's why tech has kind of been a man's world. It's kind of a suck situation to be honest.

(I have witnessed this in my own life with my mom encouraging me to be a stay-at-home-mom, which has been awesome, but I could have likely done some amazing things with the right influence and encouragement. I am not saying that it's all society's fault that women struggle in these areas, but I also think that men take for granted how much support they get. It's highly unlikely that a man has ever been told that they should "just be a stay at home dad". I never really understood the female struggle until I became a mother that also wanted a life and career, and the insane amount of backlash I have experienced from my mother, society as a whole and employers. It's been a royal nightmare in some ways.)

It's highly unlikely that a man has ever been told that they should "just be a stay at home dad".

I wasn't told this, but in high school my guidance counselor wanted me to go into psychology or service professions to "make me more well rounded as a human being". For a while I took this advice seriously and they even went as far as to offer college level courses (called Project Advance) to high school students. They offered me "Intro to Psychology". I then later majored in Psychology in college. I actually did quite well and DU named me Hornbeck scholar in 1982. But the profession wasn't right for me (long story). I ended up returning to the field I excelled in which was math and computer science after Dr. Jay Trowill committed suicide (he was my mentor in the honors program at DU). Saturn and Pluto were getting ready to cross my ascendant.

In the 1970's there was a push to get more women into math and the sciences because there was an overwhelming majority of men in that area. Not being fully aware of the political pressure that now had quota's for a certain number of women to be in a certain study, and wanting to have equal numbers for other areas, there was now pressure for men to bow out of science and math. I believe this was the reason why my guidance counselor suggested this because there was no other good reason for me to leave the sciences as I was a straight A student.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33