Have You Ever Used Geon? Got Anything?

in #blockchain5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190407_191713.jpg

I didn't get any Geon coin but got this breathtaking view from there

Hi friends!

In the blockchain technology space, everyday there is something new and exciting to learn. Recently, I came across Geon Network and downloaded its app.

I found this an interesting location-based augmented reality dapp. Just like other cryptocurrencies, Geon Network allows instant transfer of value to anywhere in the world.

But what's most interesting about it is that you need not specify any recipient address for the transfer. Instead they simply provide Proof-of-Location to validate the transaction on the blockchain network. Sender can identify or create a Geon on any map location and transfer the funds to it.

You can receive fund without creating or storing a crptocurrency wallet. You can simply agree to the transfer and receive funds by being present at a specific location.

It seems very interesting as well as baffling to me. But the concept has immense utility in customer loyalty programs, and marketing & promotion by luring people to a particular location. So I thought to try it.

Geomining


At present, there are 1.5 million locations where free Geon coins are scattered. You just need to visit the location to collect Geon coins. There are several virtual beacons planted at these locations that hold Geon coins. So you need to visit there at / during the given time. This is termed as Geomining

Now this much I could understand. But what I'm supposed to do to get these coins wasn't vey clear to me. Anyhow, I downloaded the app and saw the virtual beacons at several locations in my city.

So today, I decided to collect some of these coins. I was going to meet my friend in the evening. Since I found a beacon at one of my favourite tourist spot, I called my friend to meet me there only so that I can collect Geon coins too.

My misadventures


On the way, I found a few more virtual beacons and digressed from my route a little to try those. But I couldn't catch those beacons. Sometimes I was 150 metres away from them , some times I was just within 50 meters of beacon but beacon was planted somewhere deep in a garden and I didn't had time to go after it.

Finally I reached my destination where my friend was waiting. The first thing I tried was to locate the virtual beacon. Oh boy, it wasn't easy! We reached the spot but the app will always tell that it was 4 m away or 1 m away or something. I kept wandering all around that spot but never got it. Then my friend took my phone and tried but she too get exhausted soon.

We both were looking funny to all bystanders for trying to locate something virtual and invisible with a phone. It was like searching for a needle in a hay!

You can see in the following screenshots, I almost overlapped my phone's position with the virtual beacon but still couldn't receive any Geon. The app doesn't sound any alarm or indication except telling the distance I need to cover.

Screenshot_20190407-185712.jpg

Here you can see in the left hand side my position represented as red dot overlapping a virtual beacon. You can also see another beacon on Right hand side

Screenshot_20190407-185827.jpg

Screenshot_20190407-185857.jpg

Screenshot_20190407-185857.jpg

How much better I could have overlapped that beacon!

Was I doing something wrong? Isn't it the way it's done?

  • Is the app faulty? Did you ever get any Geons with this app?

Please help me find it. I'm thinking to give it another try someday.

Sort:  

That sounds so interesting ! I have never hear of it but keep me posted on how it works ...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sure, will see what goes on in my next attempt. You too can download the app and try it in your area. So that I can get a feedback and suggestions from you too 😊

Oh really ?? I thought it was just for India - ok - i will do I and keep you posted 😁😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Since I tried it in India, I added the India tag to the post. Sorry for the confusion!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xyzashu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @xyzashu!

You just got a 0.46% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 42.35% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @xyzashu! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78