You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Trust Revolution

in #blockchain6 years ago

I’m not sure if I see blockchain itself being such a positive thing. I think more trust between individuals is what we need, but I understand a trustless system of accounting doesn’t necessarily have to damage trust between people and can actually help it grow. What I want to see is a means of decentralizing power.

I’m by no means suggesting we are all allocated the same amount of currency or resources, but there should be a means of contesting the disparity between a “whale” and a “minnow”. Is it really ok that some people have a million times more power than the average person, that it would literally take millions of us to be able to stand against them, not accounting for all that extra support they can use their vast resources to attain. The existence of superwhales is essentially the same as a state. And I’m not insinuating that we should ransack the rich either. I hope we can develop a new kind of culture and new technologies that encourage more of a flow of resources towards those who have less. Trying to do my part.

I like the idea that anyone can start a currency, and that if people believe in it, it can become a real means of trade. I only hope we can think of good safeguards against manipulation by whales and institutions who are looking to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44